Whipped Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Scrumptious! I won't be using an entire cup of sour cream next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Very tasty and easy to make. Made with acorn squash, as there was no butternut available. It's nice to have squash without added sweetness. Creamy and delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I made the recipe as suggested by Allison on this thread. I microwaved it after I poked holes in the skin and added S & P. After, I added about 3 tablesppons of margarine and cinnamon and brown sugar. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by las21202

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Added a touch of garlic salt...otherwise delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dravosburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
This was too runny, next time would add 1/2 the sour cream and butter recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Johns, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Simple but delicious. The flavor of the squash is highlighted with the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
i made this recipe simpler because i was trying to find something easy for my mom to make and healthy.. i bought the already cubed butternut squash in a package, seasoned with salt and pepper and garlic powder and cooked it at 375 for about an 1 hr 15 min.. then i mashed it and added 3 tbsp of "i cant belive its not buttter" and thats it.. easy and healthy side dish! thanks for the inspiration
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Just ok, I either like my squash sweet with brown sugar or savory like the Amazing Squash recipe with onions. This one I could really taste the sour cream which I thought I would like but I didn't...sorry. I just want to read a recipe and not change things too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I just finished making this in preparation for Thanksgiving dinner tomorrow! Excellent with a few modifications suggested by other reviewers: I used 2 large butternut squash that I baked for 1 1/2 hours in 1 inch of water until very soft. I added 1 c of sour cream, about 4 T butter, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice and cloves. I used quite a lot of spice- just kept adding until it tasted right. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla- delicious! I whipped it in my kitchenaid mixer but not too smooth- past experience told me that it would turn into a babyfood consistency! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This definitely inspired me- I took it a little further and added 1/2 c. canned carrots, a couple drops of truffle oil and didn't whip it up, but instead smashed it with a fork for a lumpier texture. I'm addicted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States