Whipped Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was a super recipe with 2 modifications - real butter and a sprinkle of cinnamon. I cooked only one squash as directed. I used only 2 T of butter and 1/2 c sour cream since I only cooked one squash. Cinnamon sprinkled on top before serving was perfect. It was delicious!! I've never cooked butternut squash before and I'll be going to this recipe again. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I cooked my squash based on this recipe, it looks like the amount of margarine and sour cream are very high! but butternut squash come in different sizes so maybe mine were on the smaller side I cut the squash in half and seeded it and cooked it in the microwave until tender Scooped it out, mushed it, then added a heaping spoonful of sour cream (full fat, that's what I had) and a nub of butter, and some pepper and garlic salt. It was absolutely delicious and really easy, thanks for the inspirations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Simple, perfect. Exactly what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enid, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I added some cinnamon and brown suga, Next time I would add less sugar, it was a tad sweet but still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This is definitely the tastiest squash I've ever had. I made it for Thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by applianceguy
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
So I cooked the squash,scooped it, set it in a coffee filter lined colander for like 20 minutes then whipped it, then set it on low in the crock pot. No need to rebake it, and no excess water in it. I do this with pumpkin too, no runny pies. We have 14 or 15 for Thanksgiving so this works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oswego, New York, USA
Living In: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
made this a few weeks ago with chicken and green beans and my kids loved it. it was the perfect squash dish for us AS IS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
As written this is a little ho-hum as well as slightly problematic but a couple of quick and easy fixes make this the perfect squash side dish. First, use butter, not margarine - nothing beats the taste of real butter. Second, season this up. I don't like cinnamon or any sweetness with squash, nor do I like any seasoning that overpowers. A little garlic powder would have been fine, but I also added some Penzey's Fox Point Seasoning as well. Don't add the full amount of sour cream called for or you'll risk making this too "sloppy." Once mixed, I turned the squash into a baking dish and put it in a 350 degree oven for about 25 minutes till heated through. This also dried it out a little and gave it a thicker consistency. When you make this, think mashed potatoes, and what you'd do with them - it would work for this too. Once out of the oven I topped it with another dab of butter and a sprinkle of fresh chopped parsley. Now this was good - thick and creamy, delicately seasoned with a subtle and pleasant tang. This would make a great Thanksgiving dish as it would be very easy to hold in a warm oven or Crock Pot until serving time. Hubs and I both enjoyed this a great deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Wow, what a pleasant surprise this was!! I absolutely loved it! Yes, I can see how people would add brown sugar, cinnamon, etc. to this but it changes what this particular recipe is supposed to be. Both ways are excellent(but DIFFERENT RECIPES!). Thank you, Dave, for a very easy & delicious recipe!! Love, love, loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Can't...stop...eating...augghhh! >_
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States