Whipped Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This was not what I expected and while it had a good natural flavor it was more like baby food to me, which I have a baby, so I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Lindsey Gibson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Was a huge hit at Thanksgiving. I drained the squash after removing the skin. I also made this in advanced so it baked in the oven at 350 uncovered for about 30 min just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Very good. I added several tablespoons of brown sugar, some allspice and cinnamon. And, I baked the squash first, then put it in the food processor with ingredients. Will keep and use again with those adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace Bruno-Kurtz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Devils Lake, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was a super recipe with 2 modifications - real butter and a sprinkle of cinnamon. I cooked only one squash as directed. I used only 2 T of butter and 1/2 c sour cream since I only cooked one squash. Cinnamon sprinkled on top before serving was perfect. It was delicious!! I've never cooked butternut squash before and I'll be going to this recipe again. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I cooked my squash based on this recipe, it looks like the amount of margarine and sour cream are very high! but butternut squash come in different sizes so maybe mine were on the smaller side I cut the squash in half and seeded it and cooked it in the microwave until tender Scooped it out, mushed it, then added a heaping spoonful of sour cream (full fat, that's what I had) and a nub of butter, and some pepper and garlic salt. It was absolutely delicious and really easy, thanks for the inspirations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Simple, perfect. Exactly what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enid, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I added some cinnamon and brown suga, Next time I would add less sugar, it was a tad sweet but still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This is definitely the tastiest squash I've ever had. I made it for Thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by applianceguy
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
So I cooked the squash,scooped it, set it in a coffee filter lined colander for like 20 minutes then whipped it, then set it on low in the crock pot. No need to rebake it, and no excess water in it. I do this with pumpkin too, no runny pies. We have 14 or 15 for Thanksgiving so this works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oswego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
made this a few weeks ago with chicken and green beans and my kids loved it. it was the perfect squash dish for us AS IS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States