Whipped Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
12/04 edit - My recipe with some changes since '01 - Baked the squash cut side up for more density and that made for a firmer whipped end product. You can also throw the whole mixture back in the oven to cook out some of the excess mositure. Try some Tabasco Chipotle for a little extra spice to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2002
This recipe is absolutely fantastic! Use in place of traditional mashed potatoes and you will not be disappointed! A wonderful kick to liven up any meal! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
I used this for Thanksgiving ('02) and received rave reviews. I intend to repeat the performance for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
This is a great side dish. I added just 1oz of cream cheese to make it a little sweeter and firmer. Great combination. Great complement for spicy meat (like jerk shrimp). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
I have a recipe that is similer, but very different. First instead of bakinf it with water, bake cut side up with just enough water to keep it from burning and cook a much shorter time(you want it soft but firm). Cut the sour cream in half and add a couple of tablespoons of brown sugarand some cinnamon. Because of the sugar and cinnamon the kids will love it and by not cooking it so long you will have a better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
My whole family loved this recipe after they got past the looks of it. There were many jokes. It's easy to make and VERY tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
I loved this recipe! I haven't cooked squash much but this was easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
Unbelievable!! My girls actually ate squash!! Very tasty! I baked the squash covered, halved side up with about 1" of water. I also added a little cinnamon and sugar. I think the sour cream is what gives it that awesome flavor! Will become part of the weekly dinner rotation!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I had a butternut squash and had no idea how to cook it or what to do with it. So, I tried this. We loved it. I used just a spoon of butter and a spoon of sour cream. VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Very good, I tasted it before adding the sour cream and I think next time I won't add any sour cream-the squash flavor was better that way. I added just 1/2 cup sour cream-my picky husband liked this recipe. First time cooking a whole squash-pretty easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States