Whipped Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This recipe is really great - simpl to make and tastes delicious! I was pressed for time so I boiled the squash for 30 minutes instead of baking it for an hour, but it still came out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Brockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Great recipe, really easy! To make it low fat I substituted skim milk for the margarine and used fat free sour cream. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: High Level, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
I gave it a 4 'cause I was inspired by this recipe. I did 1 large squash in the microwave (8 minutes, turn over, 8 minutes, leave steaming for 10). I used the sour cream and butter... but after I blended, I added a cup of unsweetened applesauce, too. Turned out YUMMY! Thanks for posting your recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This is a 5 with my modifications, which were minimal. I baked the squash (I used one long heavy one) cut side down in a 1/4 inch of water, at 375 degrees, for a LONG TIME. When the skin is burning, the squash is done. This brings out the flavor and mellows out the texture of winter squash. I scooped it out and added 2-3 TB of butter and about 2/3 cup sour cream. No salt or pepper - instead a heatlhy sprinkling of cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and allspice (about a pinch of each?). Blended well with a hand-mixer. This was FABULOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenhills, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
LOVED THIS RECIPE! Like other reviews I cooked the squash with some cinnamon. Had to use 1/4 cup of cream cheese and 2 tablesppons half and half instead of the sourc ream and it turned out awesome. I will definately make again with the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
This combination of flavors is awful. It has a grainy texture. I don't recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RandySweet
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
So delicious. I could live on Butternut Squash - won't part with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandySweet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victoria Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I cooked this at Christmas after quickly pulling off the recipe....it was the dinner fav!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
This was so delicious and easy to make. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEAH MACDONALD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was my very first time attempting to do anything with some nice looking butternut squash. My whole family loved the whipped recipe. I made a few changes. Used only 1/2 cup of sour cream, and added some brown sugar and whip cream. Yum yum. I am keeping this thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States