Whipped Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Fantastic! Excellent flavor, lovely texture. I added some garlic powder and it was perfect. Will definitely use this recipe again. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I didn't have any sour cream, so I was forced to omit that. I also added cinnamon and pumpkin spice. I loved it, but more importantly, my 21-month-old who has decided to refuse ALL vegetables lately also loved it! Will be making this again soon (and will probably keep a steady supply ready to go in the fridge!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Snyder Honeycutt

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rougemont, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I halved, seeded, and peeled the squash, put in 1 inch of water and microwaved for 20 minutes (then you don't have to handle a steaming hot squash)--cut the cook time down dramatically. I then put the cooked squash into a mixing bowl and beat it with olive oil (instead of butter), cayenne pepper, fresh thyme, salt, pepper, and greek yogurt (instead of sour cream; you could also do plain yogurt). Turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Nav

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I cut this in half since I only had 1 squash and I peeled it, cut it in chunks, sprinkled the salt over and microwaved it with some butter until it was tender. Then I used a fork to mash it and only used half the sour cream as it was all I had. I left off the pepper at hubby's request. This was alright but seemed like they needed more moisture as the squash absorbed it all and these were rather thick. This was good, but we prefer ours the sweeter traditional way with brown sugar and butter. Thanks for the idea, it was a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Pretty good. Wish there was a little more direction, and it could use some modification, but as is, it is pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmurphy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Very good, but add wet ingredients slowly. It can be too watery if your not too careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
My picky parents loved this. I used it as the main dish, and my father didn't even complain that it was a totally veg. meal (I think it was his first). I did add corn, but with or without it, this recipe is a gem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I did not like this with the sour cream. It was a disaster and the reviews were too much. I think people should rate the recipe for what it is, not how it is after adding a pinch of this and a whole new list of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Damascus, Maryland, USA
Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
delicious taste! I gave this 4 stars because the technique was awful. to fill & cover with water, is A LOT of water which made it heavy and difficult to get in and out of the oven. also, scraping the squash out of the skin was a bit of a task. 1 hour was too long; the skin was too soft to even spoon it out. there must be an easier method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Makaha, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States