Wheatberry Waldorf Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Fantastic: beautiful, tasty, and nutritious. I was really satisfied with a wheat berry salad recipe by chef Ellie Krieger, but this recipe is superior due to the dressing. However, I do include a couple of elements from chef Krieger's recipe. I add 2 stalks of celery and 1 scallion, both finely chopped. Also, if you can't find pomegranate seeds, consider substituting dried *tart* cherries, such as Montmorency cherries. They're not the same, but the salad really benefits from tartness, so try to keep that element as part of the dish, one way or another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Sooooo good. I didn't change a thing. Much better the next day. My 4-year-old called this "dessert" and I agree. It hits the spot for a satisfying, nutty, tangy, not-too-sweet bowl of goodness. Great after I work out, too. I'm really glad it made so much. I have more wheat berries and will probably make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Did I sin by letting this sit one day to absorb the spicing, then draining the vinegar and adding mayonnaise? A Waldorf just isn't a Waldorf without mayo. Also, this level of spicing moved this out of salad territory. It was more like mincemeat. This might be interesting in another use, but was overwhelming for a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I really wanted to like this salad. I eat pretty healthily, I don't eat processed sugar & was hoping this salad would be a new guiltless dish for me but it wasn't. The amount of wheat berries compared with other ingredients is overwhelming. If I were to do it again, I'd use only a quarter of what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Love this salad I make it at least everyother week keeps in the frigand is a great go to when I frist get home from work to have a small bowl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Made it for a dinner party with fresh trout. Used craisins and yellow raisins. Was a very colorful and appetizing presentation. It wasn't what I expected, yet very good. A nice combination of flavors. Make it far enough in advance so the flavors have sufficient time to meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Gulfport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This is so yummy and healthy! It reminds me of Charoses, which I haven't had since I was a kid! I didn't have pomegranate seeds or apple juice so I substituted with pomegranate juice. It happens to be very tart so I added a bit of honey too. Also, I only had one cup of wheat berries so I substituted with some quinoa. It was very hearty and delicious! Thank you for reminding me how much I love wheat berries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Delicious. Makes a lot; great to bring to a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I was ready to toss this receipe as a "salad" but instead used it as a breakfast meal andit was fantastic. I made it the night before, spooned out what I wanted for breakfast in a bowl, topped it with 1 Tablespoon of brown sugar and 1 teaspoon of butter, heated it until warm and it was great. It makes a TON so I would suggest halving the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
The only change that I made to this recipe was the way that I cooked the wheat berries. The only wheat berries that I could find were already parboiled so they only took 15 min to cook with no soaking. Make sure that you check the package for that. I am glad that I did or I would have had mush! I found that I only needed half of the wheat berries after I cooked them. The salad is great! The only thing that I would do next time is cut down a little on the nutmeg (only for personal tastes). The pomegranates really make the salad :) This recipe is great for quick, healthy breakfasts and snacks. Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States