Wheatberry Waldorf Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I really wanted to like this salad. I eat pretty healthily, I don't eat processed sugar & was hoping this salad would be a new guiltless dish for me but it wasn't. The amount of wheat berries compared with other ingredients is overwhelming. If I were to do it again, I'd use only a quarter of what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Love this salad I make it at least everyother week keeps in the frigand is a great go to when I frist get home from work to have a small bowl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Made it for a dinner party with fresh trout. Used craisins and yellow raisins. Was a very colorful and appetizing presentation. It wasn't what I expected, yet very good. A nice combination of flavors. Make it far enough in advance so the flavors have sufficient time to meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Gulfport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This is so yummy and healthy! It reminds me of Charoses, which I haven't had since I was a kid! I didn't have pomegranate seeds or apple juice so I substituted with pomegranate juice. It happens to be very tart so I added a bit of honey too. Also, I only had one cup of wheat berries so I substituted with some quinoa. It was very hearty and delicious! Thank you for reminding me how much I love wheat berries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Delicious. Makes a lot; great to bring to a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I was ready to toss this receipe as a "salad" but instead used it as a breakfast meal andit was fantastic. I made it the night before, spooned out what I wanted for breakfast in a bowl, topped it with 1 Tablespoon of brown sugar and 1 teaspoon of butter, heated it until warm and it was great. It makes a TON so I would suggest halving the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
The only change that I made to this recipe was the way that I cooked the wheat berries. The only wheat berries that I could find were already parboiled so they only took 15 min to cook with no soaking. Make sure that you check the package for that. I am glad that I did or I would have had mush! I found that I only needed half of the wheat berries after I cooked them. The salad is great! The only thing that I would do next time is cut down a little on the nutmeg (only for personal tastes). The pomegranates really make the salad :) This recipe is great for quick, healthy breakfasts and snacks. Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This sounded like just what I was looking for, and with just a few minor changes (strictly to suit ourselves) it was big hit. I made up the dressing first (from the apple juice on)and dressed the wheatberries while they were still hot as I believe that they will absorb the flavors better that way. I wanted something a little less sweet, a bit more "main dish", so I added 3 stalks of diced celery, 1/2 of a large red onion, diced, and 1 large carrot, grated. Also swapped dried cranberries for raisins, pecans for walnuts, and used a huge Mutsu apple (extra crisp, not too sweet). Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Auburn, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States