Wheatberry Waldorf Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This sounded like just what I was looking for, and with just a few minor changes (strictly to suit ourselves) it was big hit. I made up the dressing first (from the apple juice on)and dressed the wheatberries while they were still hot as I believe that they will absorb the flavors better that way. I wanted something a little less sweet, a bit more "main dish", so I added 3 stalks of diced celery, 1/2 of a large red onion, diced, and 1 large carrot, grated. Also swapped dried cranberries for raisins, pecans for walnuts, and used a huge Mutsu apple (extra crisp, not too sweet). Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Auburn, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
The only change that I made to this recipe was the way that I cooked the wheat berries. The only wheat berries that I could find were already parboiled so they only took 15 min to cook with no soaking. Make sure that you check the package for that. I am glad that I did or I would have had mush! I found that I only needed half of the wheat berries after I cooked them. The salad is great! The only thing that I would do next time is cut down a little on the nutmeg (only for personal tastes). The pomegranates really make the salad :) This recipe is great for quick, healthy breakfasts and snacks. Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I was ready to toss this receipe as a "salad" but instead used it as a breakfast meal andit was fantastic. I made it the night before, spooned out what I wanted for breakfast in a bowl, topped it with 1 Tablespoon of brown sugar and 1 teaspoon of butter, heated it until warm and it was great. It makes a TON so I would suggest halving the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Delicious. Makes a lot; great to bring to a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This is so yummy and healthy! It reminds me of Charoses, which I haven't had since I was a kid! I didn't have pomegranate seeds or apple juice so I substituted with pomegranate juice. It happens to be very tart so I added a bit of honey too. Also, I only had one cup of wheat berries so I substituted with some quinoa. It was very hearty and delicious! Thank you for reminding me how much I love wheat berries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Made it for a dinner party with fresh trout. Used craisins and yellow raisins. Was a very colorful and appetizing presentation. It wasn't what I expected, yet very good. A nice combination of flavors. Make it far enough in advance so the flavors have sufficient time to meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Gulfport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Love this salad I make it at least everyother week keeps in the frigand is a great go to when I frist get home from work to have a small bowl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I really wanted to like this salad. I eat pretty healthily, I don't eat processed sugar & was hoping this salad would be a new guiltless dish for me but it wasn't. The amount of wheat berries compared with other ingredients is overwhelming. If I were to do it again, I'd use only a quarter of what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States