Wheat Germ Whole-Wheat Buttermilk Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2006
This recipe is wonderful!!! As a college student, I need foods that are quick and easy, and this definitely fit the bill. I will make this again, without a doubt. For taste, I added vanilla and cinnamon. As an alternative for syrup, mix a little cool whip with strawberry preserves and top with fresh strawberries - it looks great and is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
My family loves, loves, loves these pancakes. I did substitute a few things because I didn't have a few ingred. on hand...but they turned out awesome!!! I did substitute oil w/ applesauce. I didn't have any buttermilk, so I used 1 cup blueberry yogurt and 1 cup vanilla yogurt! These are to die for!!! My 2 year old eats 2-3 pancakes, and he was not a fan of pancakes before this recipe! FIVE STARS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by healthnut
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
Very light and fluffy! The wheat germ gives a great nutty taste to these pancakes. I topped them with a little leftover melted lemon curd and margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
These were amazing! I loved everything about them from the ease of preparation to the nutty healthy flavor. We will be making these for years to come!! I added 1/4 cup brown sugar because we like our pancakes a little bit sweet and that way my 1 year old can eat them without messy syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
We give these 5 stars for easy and healthy and good!! I had no wheat germ but had my heart set on these so substituted more ww flour for that. Then used applesauce instead of oil. No sugar really needed. added blueberries to half and made blueberry sauce from this site for topping. Very tasty. Made all of us happy. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joanne_teo
Reviewed: May 17, 2006
I love the flavour of the whole wheat. I added sliced banana on top of the batter for added taste (and fibre). I used whole wheat bread flour and omitted the salt and wheat germ. Instead, I added 1 tsp vanilla, 2 tbsp brown sugar and 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. This made it good enough to eat on its own without any syrup or topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
SOOO good! And healthy! And easy to make! Yummm. Everyone in my family loved them. I added 1/4 cup flax seed meal. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
Delicious! I followed readers' advice and added 1 teaspoon vanilla, no extra sugar. I didn't have whole wheat pastry flour. So I used regular white flour. So tasty that I will make up bags of "dry ingredients" so I can whip up pancakes any day of the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINNONA

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Photo by vv
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
Excellent. Used WW flour, applesauce for oil, LACTAID, and omitted wheat germ and salt because I didn't have any on hand. Added one tsp vanilla, 1 tsp cinammon, folded in chopped strawberries, and added 1/8 cup of splenda to sweeten them up. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
Excellent recipe! The pancakes were so fluffy and soft. The pastry flour and the buttermilk make all the difference. I incorporated this into a cooking class that I taught-the crowd loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States