Wheat Germ Whole-Wheat Buttermilk Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I made these 2 different ways since I thought maybe the baking soda was a misprint and it was meant to say baking powder? The soda ones didn't come out nearly as good as the powder ones. The soda pancakes were flat yet okay tasting and the powder cakes were tastier, fluffier and better looking. I'll make them again but I'd do it with the baking powder for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieBalls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
These pancakes turned out so delicious, we've decided to make them a tradition/treat for Sunday morning breakfast. I'd choose these pancakes over any made from a boxed mix or at a restaurant. I don't keep WW pastery flour so I just use regular WW or sometimes white WW. I've made it with both regular eggs and just egg whites and discovered that while the original recipe is good and fluffy, the pancakes are a bit lighter when I use only egg whites. If you run out of buttermilk, this substitute works in a pinch: measure 2 Tbsp lemon into a large measuring glass, add enough milk to make it 2 cups, and let it sit for 5 min before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
I don't know why people rate a recipe when they've changed every ingredient in it except one. That being said, I almost walked away from this recipe because I didn't have ww pastry flour. I only had regular ww. After reading the reviews, I decided to just use what I had and these pancakes turned out beautifully! They are really fluffy, and full of substance. My kids each at 2 - a bit hit! Thank you for this recipe. I'll definitely be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I used flax seed instead of the eggs. 1 T. ground flax + 3 T. water replaces one egg. More healthy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Nice recipe Kaykwilts!!! Tried it with both the wheat germ and without and both ways it is good. Very light, fluffy and yet extremely healthy. (P.S. I also tried it with regular whole wheat flour instead of the pastry, trust me people, you NEED to get the pastry flour--it makes all the difference). (Little add-ins & substitutions to suit my particular needs/preferences: added 2 tbs Splenda and 1 scoop of unflavored Whey Protein powder to get the protein/carb/fat ratios I need for my BFFM diet.) Who would have thought I could have pancakes on my diet? Absolutely sensational. Thanks again KayKwilts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
My family loves, loves, loves these pancakes. I did substitute a few things because I didn't have a few ingred. on hand...but they turned out awesome!!! I did substitute oil w/ applesauce. I didn't have any buttermilk, so I used 1 cup blueberry yogurt and 1 cup vanilla yogurt! These are to die for!!! My 2 year old eats 2-3 pancakes, and he was not a fan of pancakes before this recipe! FIVE STARS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
I liked this recipe but one time, on accident I left out the oil and they came out even better, more fluffy (and I saved calories). My brother requests these every Saturday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
Fluffy, clean-tasting delicious pancakes! I used ground flaxseed instead of wheat germ and 1/2 c yogurt + 1 1/2 c milk for buttermilk and my parents loved it. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
This recipe is wonderful!!! As a college student, I need foods that are quick and easy, and this definitely fit the bill. I will make this again, without a doubt. For taste, I added vanilla and cinnamon. As an alternative for syrup, mix a little cool whip with strawberry preserves and top with fresh strawberries - it looks great and is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
These were really good. I have a houseful of kids here and they scarfed them up. I even forgot the salt and they were still gobbled up. I think next time I would maybe a tablespoon of sugar...otherwise, awesome. I used regular wheat flour and nonfat buttermilk and they came out light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States