Wheat Germ Whole-Wheat Buttermilk Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
This was one of the best whole grain recipes I have ever tried. The pancakes are light, fluffy, and oh so delicious. My kids love them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Minibug Mamma
Reviewed: May 16, 2005
Light and fluffy, and verry tasty. My son and I love these. Nothing like my Dad's whole wheet hockey pucks!! These are my new favorite pancake recipe! Thanks so much Kaykwilts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
This is a great recipe. The pancakes turned out nice and fluffy. I added about 1/4 cup of splenda and I think next time I will add some chopped pecans. The recipe has a great nutty taste and I will make it again for sure. My husband wasn't going to have any since they were whole wheat - but then he tasted mine and asked me to make a couple more for him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb. B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Diamond Vale, Diego Martin, Trinidad And Tobago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
I have made this recipe twice and twice I have been very pleased. The whole family loved them! Initially I was worried becouse the batter seemed very runny to me but they cooked up great. I also didn't use whole wheat pastry flour either time but my own finely ground wheat flour. The second time the batter seemed runny again. I cooked the first round anyways, they turned out fine, but then I started changing things. I added 1/4 tsp baking powder, approx 1/4-1/2 cup more whole wheat flour and about 1/4 cup of honey. They were delicious! Thanks for a great whole wheat recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
Wonderful recipe! The first time I've made whole-wheat pancakes and they weren't heavy and dense. I think the secret to making them light and fluffy is the buttermilk. I used a pint of low-fat buttermilk, and it was just short of 2 cups, so I used 1% milk to make up the difference. I followed the recipe exactly, and added two teaspoons of ground flax to the mix. Then added a handful of frozen blueberries to each pancake after I poured it onto the griddle. My only regret is that I didn't have the real maple syrup to pour on it... only the fake stuff. I will be prepared next time! Thank you for a truly wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
Wow! Best pancakes I have ever had! Even my brother (who never eats healthy food) loved them! I used fresh ground whole wheat. The buttermilk helped so they weren't to heavy. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
Just tried these with bananas and blueberries, and they were quite good. The only thing I fiddled with was adding a teaspoon of double-acting baking powder to half of the batter. It made that half überfluffy. Something to fiddle with in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
These pancakes were light and fluffy as promised. I added some pecans just for texture. Holy moly though, they're filling, so watch out. Very good with sugar free Mrs. Butterworth's syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENENIEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
This recipe is absolutely delicious! I had no eggs so instead I threw in a banana and a 1/4 tsp of baking powder as a substitute. I don't know how the original recipe is, but the pancakes with my modifications were amazing! Not one crumb was left on any of the plates. The banana flavor was a very nice touch. I'll definitely be making these healthy tastey breakfast treats again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This has become my staple for pancakes. Very good - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States