Wheat Germ Whole-Wheat Buttermilk Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Made these this morning with a couple of small changes: I used 3T flaxseed meal and 3T of oil, plus I added 1/2 tsp of vanilla. They were perfect with some cooked apples spooned over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Whiel I don't care for these pancakes so much, I rated it 5 stars because my husband, who never eats pancakes, as well as my 8 year old stepson think this recipe rocks! Thanks for putting a healthy twist on a breakfast staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I scaled this down to make just for myself this morning because I prefer a healthier breakfast than the rest of my family. I think that they were jealous of me - I loved these. Paired with a blueberry raspberry topping, and these were healthy and delicious. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I used plain yogurt instead of buttermilk and added dried cranberries to give it a real antioxident power punch...Topped with real maple syrup or unsweetened apple sauce....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Fantastic pancakes! I followed a lot of advice from reviewers since I didn't have a lot of the ingredients on hand. I substituted applesauce (made from just pureed apples) for the oil, yoplait light strawberry banana yogurt for the buttermilk (you can't taste the yogurt flavor in the pancakes), whole wheat flour for the whole wheat pastry flour, and I left out the wheat germ. I also added a little splenda. It was a very filling breakfast and I will definitely make them again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
These had NO flavor, the batter was way too runny & cooked into flat pancakes. I ended up adding 1T. sugar. I'd rather just add some wheat germ to the Truck-Stop Buttermilk pancake recipe. Those are heavenly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Made exactly as recipe reads, and they came out amazing. Wouldn't want to change anything to mess this up. The flavor was the best of any pancake I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This was pretty good, although I don't always have fresh-ground whole wheat pastry flour on hand (it goes rancid quickly). I discovered I could grind oatmeal in my small electric coffee grinder, to get an alternative whole grain flour. I also tried separating the egg whites out; if you whip them first, the pancakes are extra light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer_Cote

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinole, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Even though this is a pancake recipes, I used it to make waffles, and boy did it make some good waffles! Instead of using 2 tsp. of baking soda, I used 1 tsp. of baking soda and 1 tsp. of baking powder. I used 1/2 a cup of cake flour in place of 1/2 a cup of whole wheat flour. I also put about 1 tbsp. of agave syrup into the batter. The added sweetiness in the batter made maple syrup unnecessary (although I still used a little).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I thought these were okay after swapping vanilla almond milk for the buttermilk, adding sliced almonds, and a bit of cinnamon. I thought it was decent with agave nectar as a syrup. No one else could even stand these, though, and they're health food nuts! I won't be using this recipe ever again, but it's always nice to try new things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States