Wheat Germ Whole-Wheat Buttermilk Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I used King Arthur White Whole Wheat flour and I'm sure that affected my outcome in a positive way, because we found these to be tasty, though dry. Do not substitute baking powder for baking soda; you can ADD it but do not eliminate the soda entirely, because the buttermilk uses the soda as a leavener. This batter was bizarre; it foamed on top but was runny and weird unless I kept mixing it, which you're really not supposed to do with buttermilk pancakes, but that's what I had to do. I suspect it needed more flour or wheat germ and would increase the flour by 1/4 cup in the future. I could not taste the wheat germ, which is perfectly fine by me. I served these with AR's "Sauteed Apples" on top in place of syrup and butter. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Excellent recipe! No sugar-what? I don't even know how these are so delicious but they are. My husband, 3 year old and baby love them. I didn't have pastry flour but they were great with reg whole wheat. They were so thick for some reason I kind of tried to spread them out with the measuring cup so they wouldn't be doughy in the middle, but I didn't smash them down. I still can't believe my husband loved these. Wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Great pancakes! Filler for sure. Just need to substitute buttermilk for healthier pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
So great! Added 2 tbs sugar and freezing for easy breakfast on school mornings. Kids going crazy for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
These are very good, my only comment would be that the wheat germ has a bit of a gritty aftertaste. We did not have buttermilk so we used 2 TB lemon juice and filled to 2 cups with half and half, could also use milk to do this. We also added a mashed banana to the batter. Next time I will cut in half as this was too many pancakes for 3 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I liked this overall recipe. I changed quite a few things. I used egg whites, apple sauce, club soda, and old fashioned oats instead of wheat germ since I don't own any. I cut this recipe down since I just made for myself. Also, I added 1 tsp. of Vanilla, a dash of cinnamon, and a little bit of splenda (I honestly didn't measure it, I just sprinkled it in after I had a pancake to add some sweetness). I still could taste some baking soda in there. I don't know how to shake the taste, but I'll figure it out in the next batch. This is a keeper for me. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by panterakat3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
We like healthy pancakes, and these were beautiful! Light and fluffy...they have a wonderful look and texture. Unfortunately, the bitter baking-soda flavor was too much for me. The kids ate them fine, the hubby was able to make himself eat a few, but I couldn't even finish the only one I tried. I'm sure there are ways to remedy this, but I won't be taking the time. We have a large family and I doubled the recipe - and between the wheat germ and buttermilk, it was an expensive experience that turned out badly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Great recipe! I'm right now building my arsenal of yummy and healthier foods to feed my family and this fits the bill perfectly. Note: Substituted Whole Milk for Buttermilk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Replaced oil with unsweetened apple sauce. Great recipe for clean eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I followed the recipe except for the baking soda, I thought it might have been a misprint so I used baking powder. The recipe is pretty close to the one I already use except using the whole wheat pastry flour and wheat germ. I did cut back the amount of oil and added a little melted butter instead of the 1/4 cup canola oil. The pancakes came out fluffy and tasty but you have to get used to eating whole wheat pancakes instead of regular all purpose flour pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States