Wheat Germ Whole-Wheat Buttermilk Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
These are the best. I use regular WW flour, add a bit of white flour just to thicken. I use lemon juice/milk instead of buttermilk. I have added milled flax seed, and a bit of demerara sugar as well. Then when I cook them I sprinkle on lots of fruit - either frozen, fresh or dried or a mix. For two people I half the recipe. These are such a hit and so much more filling and better for you than regular pancakes! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This was a fantastic, fluffy pancake! I only had regular whole wheat flour on hand, but they came out great :) This will be my new go-to pancake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I truly think this is THE BEST healthy pancake recipe out there. I made a few minor changes: 1) used half wheat germ and half flaxseed meal, 2) subbed unsweetened applesauce for the oil, 3) subbed baking powder for baking soda, as one reviewer suggested, 4) used regular whole wheat flour instead of ww pastry flour, and 5) added a dash of cinnamon. These are so light and fluffy and beautiful and tasty -- you'd never guess they were so healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Great taste but I have never gotten them to be light and fluffy and I have made these numerous times. Even so, we love these and they are part of our Saturday morning breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This has become my standard pancake recipe. Even family members who wouldn't eat them if they knew they contained wheat germ and whole wheat flour thought they were great. I double (or triple) the recipe and mix all the dry ingredients ( using buttermilk powder instead of buttermilk) together ahead of time and keep the mix in the fridge. Only having to add the wet ingredients at breakfast time makes this just as easy as a store bought mix, but healthier and better tasting. (I use much less oil than the recipe calls for -- probably only a couple teaspoons. I tried it the first time with the recommended oil and the pancakes were way too "moist" and greasy.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
My children are pancake fanatics. They are used to the regular homemade version that I make all the time. I wanted to a healthier way to make their favorite food but I had serious doubts about whether or not they would enjoy the change in their favorite with their finely tuned pancake taste :p but they loved these! AND I loved knowing that I was giving them something they loved that was healthy. From now on THIS will be my usual pancake recipe. :) THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
These pancakes were wonderful and so much better for you than store mixes. I don't think I'll ever buy a box mix again! The only thing I didn't have on hand was w.w. pastry flour, so I just used regular. Just love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
These are very light. I can see how people would like them, but not my preference. I like a heartier pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I would probably give these 3.5 stars. They taste just like a normal pancake, but the texture is a little different. The batter was a lot thicker then I expected and I tried to thin it out a bit with a couple of tbs of buttermilk, but it really did not work. You do need to cook these slow and low because of the thickness other wise they will be raw in the center. Not sure if I will make these again. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I followed the recipe but substituted ground flax seeds instead of the wheat germ. Turned out wonderful. Liked the consistency and taste for a healthy pancake. Added cinnamon and agave for a topping. So glad I found this recipe. Thank you- will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 399) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States