Wheat Germ Whole-Wheat Buttermilk Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
My children are pancake fanatics. They are used to the regular homemade version that I make all the time. I wanted to a healthier way to make their favorite food but I had serious doubts about whether or not they would enjoy the change in their favorite with their finely tuned pancake taste :p but they loved these! AND I loved knowing that I was giving them something they loved that was healthy. From now on THIS will be my usual pancake recipe. :) THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
These pancakes were wonderful and so much better for you than store mixes. I don't think I'll ever buy a box mix again! The only thing I didn't have on hand was w.w. pastry flour, so I just used regular. Just love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
These are very light. I can see how people would like them, but not my preference. I like a heartier pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I would probably give these 3.5 stars. They taste just like a normal pancake, but the texture is a little different. The batter was a lot thicker then I expected and I tried to thin it out a bit with a couple of tbs of buttermilk, but it really did not work. You do need to cook these slow and low because of the thickness other wise they will be raw in the center. Not sure if I will make these again. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I followed the recipe but substituted ground flax seeds instead of the wheat germ. Turned out wonderful. Liked the consistency and taste for a healthy pancake. Added cinnamon and agave for a topping. So glad I found this recipe. Thank you- will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
These were wonderful... we also ground up a 1/4 cup flax seed to add a little bit more nuttiness, as well as spiced oats, a dash of nutmeg, cinnamon, and a splash of vanilla. Butter on the pan gave these a wonderful crust on the outside. One of the top recipes in our pancake repitoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Fabulous! One recipe served 6 in our house - made them for dinner. Mmmmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
These have a great flavor! I have made these twice, both with regular whole wheat flour because I didn't have pastry flour. The first time I used apple cider vinegar to make my own buttermilk and the second time I used lemon juice. I thought the cider vinegar gave it a nicer flavor, so I will just use that next time also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
These are a good healthy alternative to buttermilk pancakes made with white flour. However, the batter seemed very thick so I added a little more milk. They are not a fluffy pancake, which is why I didn't give them 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aopiuofc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Very Yummy! Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by truebluekat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States