Wheat Germ Whole-Wheat Buttermilk Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Halved the recipe. Did not have wheat germ on hand so increased flour to almost a full cup. Added a tsp of vanilla to the wet ingredients and a few shakes of cinnamon to the dry ingredients which made the pancakes very flavorfull without needing as much syrup. Pancakes came out super fluffy and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
For being healthier pancakes without sugar, these are pretty good. I also used a ground flax seed and water mixture instead of eggs. I don't eat them. Worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJRsMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Pretty good, but you must like wheat products. If you are not a fan of wheat bread, this might be to "wheatie" for you. I loved them though and they were WAY more filling than regular pancakes. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by metread
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
These are outstanding. I do not readily have wheat germ on hand, so I always make it with 2 c. whole wheat flour. My family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metread

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pineville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
These were the best pancakes I have ever made. I even let the left over batter sit in the fridge and it held up just fine. We topped with fruit topping (blackberries, blueberries, strawberries, fresh pineapple and lemon juice just heated up until the berries are all juicy). My ten year old and breakfast hating boyfriend liked them. I will be making often. If you don’t have Whole Wheat pastry flour you should get some. It makes them lighter. You can buy it online.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
These are the best. I use regular WW flour, add a bit of white flour just to thicken. I use lemon juice/milk instead of buttermilk. I have added milled flax seed, and a bit of demerara sugar as well. Then when I cook them I sprinkle on lots of fruit - either frozen, fresh or dried or a mix. For two people I half the recipe. These are such a hit and so much more filling and better for you than regular pancakes! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This was a fantastic, fluffy pancake! I only had regular whole wheat flour on hand, but they came out great :) This will be my new go-to pancake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I truly think this is THE BEST healthy pancake recipe out there. I made a few minor changes: 1) used half wheat germ and half flaxseed meal, 2) subbed unsweetened applesauce for the oil, 3) subbed baking powder for baking soda, as one reviewer suggested, 4) used regular whole wheat flour instead of ww pastry flour, and 5) added a dash of cinnamon. These are so light and fluffy and beautiful and tasty -- you'd never guess they were so healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Great taste but I have never gotten them to be light and fluffy and I have made these numerous times. Even so, we love these and they are part of our Saturday morning breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This has become my standard pancake recipe. Even family members who wouldn't eat them if they knew they contained wheat germ and whole wheat flour thought they were great. I double (or triple) the recipe and mix all the dry ingredients ( using buttermilk powder instead of buttermilk) together ahead of time and keep the mix in the fridge. Only having to add the wet ingredients at breakfast time makes this just as easy as a store bought mix, but healthier and better tasting. (I use much less oil than the recipe calls for -- probably only a couple teaspoons. I tried it the first time with the recommended oil and the pancakes were way too "moist" and greasy.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States