Wheat Germ Whole-Wheat Buttermilk Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Although I love that these are healthy, they are a little bland. I had to add a little sugar, bananas, or blueberries to get my kids to say "Yum". Subbing applesauce for some of the oil also works. I would definitely change the soda for baking powder, having made them both ways. But beware! Using whole wheat flour (as my husband did) instead of whole wheat pastry flour makes them very flat and heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
These were the perfect texture and very yummy! Approved by 3 out of 4 kids. (The fourth is quite particular...) I didn't have any wheat germ so I just used the wheat pastry flour. These are the only pancakes I'll be making from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashlee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Everyone loved em. I substituted coconut oil for canola oil (WAY better for you).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I will try them again with a couple of table spoons of sugar to take away the blandness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dian Jellicoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
They aren't as light and fluffy as I would like and they aren't at all sweet. I prefer a little sweet to the batter. Overall, it's a solid four stars with a little room for improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
made as is, fantastic, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Great recipe kids loved them. Really fluffy I used it for waffles and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
These are fabulous! I made a few mods--1 cup whole wheat, 1 cup all-purpose as I did not have whole wheat pastry flour; squeezed juice of two small lemons into milk as I did not have buttermilk; added 1/2 cup of ground flax; also used baking powder rather than soda as suggested by another reviewer; last--added 1 cup of frozen blueberries thawed. I will be tossing out my other recipe and making these from now on! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
World's most pickiest son turned his nose at first sight, one taste, gobbled it up! I ground up flax seed for I didn't have wg. I wasn't sure how it would be with no sugar in the recipe, but it was a hit in this household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
These were delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and was very pleased at how easy it was, and how fluffy the results. Will make these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States