Wheat Germ Whole-Wheat Buttermilk Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
These had NO flavor, the batter was way too runny & cooked into flat pancakes. I ended up adding 1T. sugar. I'd rather just add some wheat germ to the Truck-Stop Buttermilk pancake recipe. Those are heavenly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Made exactly as recipe reads, and they came out amazing. Wouldn't want to change anything to mess this up. The flavor was the best of any pancake I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This was pretty good, although I don't always have fresh-ground whole wheat pastry flour on hand (it goes rancid quickly). I discovered I could grind oatmeal in my small electric coffee grinder, to get an alternative whole grain flour. I also tried separating the egg whites out; if you whip them first, the pancakes are extra light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer_Cote

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinole, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Even though this is a pancake recipes, I used it to make waffles, and boy did it make some good waffles! Instead of using 2 tsp. of baking soda, I used 1 tsp. of baking soda and 1 tsp. of baking powder. I used 1/2 a cup of cake flour in place of 1/2 a cup of whole wheat flour. I also put about 1 tbsp. of agave syrup into the batter. The added sweetiness in the batter made maple syrup unnecessary (although I still used a little).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I thought these were okay after swapping vanilla almond milk for the buttermilk, adding sliced almonds, and a bit of cinnamon. I thought it was decent with agave nectar as a syrup. No one else could even stand these, though, and they're health food nuts! I won't be using this recipe ever again, but it's always nice to try new things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I'm sure they were fine as is,,,but I used grapeseed oil(needed using up), and soy(no cow milk for me) with vinegar and spelt and multigrain flour. Always double pancake recipe and freeze whats left for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I did everything like it said except for the dry ingredients, where I used 1/4c flax, 1/4c wheat germ, 1c all purpose flour and 1/2 cup stoneground whole wheat, in addition to the salt and baking soda. My son loved these. I also crumbled some pecans into a few and some frozen blueberries. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I made these this morning for my boys, ages 4 & 1 and they were a hit! Love the whole wheat pastry flour- it made them come out light and fluffy, not as heavy as regular whole wheat flour. I'm not one to alter a recipe since I'm a new cook, but I did substitute applesauce for the oil and mashed up a banana to add to the batter. They were moist and declious! Topped them off with vanilla agave - yum! I've tried other recipes for pancakes and they always seem to come out too chewy or dry. This was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
My whole family loved these pancakes. They are very light and fluffy with a hearty wheat flavor. My only complaint is they were very oily. I would try reducing the oil or leaving it out. Worth experimenting a little. One more thing ~ this recipe made double for me over what it states in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Excellent recipe!! This is my favorite pancake recipe on here so far. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 399) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States