Wheat Germ Whole-Wheat Buttermilk Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I thought these were okay after swapping vanilla almond milk for the buttermilk, adding sliced almonds, and a bit of cinnamon. I thought it was decent with agave nectar as a syrup. No one else could even stand these, though, and they're health food nuts! I won't be using this recipe ever again, but it's always nice to try new things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I'm sure they were fine as is,,,but I used grapeseed oil(needed using up), and soy(no cow milk for me) with vinegar and spelt and multigrain flour. Always double pancake recipe and freeze whats left for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I did everything like it said except for the dry ingredients, where I used 1/4c flax, 1/4c wheat germ, 1c all purpose flour and 1/2 cup stoneground whole wheat, in addition to the salt and baking soda. My son loved these. I also crumbled some pecans into a few and some frozen blueberries. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I made these this morning for my boys, ages 4 & 1 and they were a hit! Love the whole wheat pastry flour- it made them come out light and fluffy, not as heavy as regular whole wheat flour. I'm not one to alter a recipe since I'm a new cook, but I did substitute applesauce for the oil and mashed up a banana to add to the batter. They were moist and declious! Topped them off with vanilla agave - yum! I've tried other recipes for pancakes and they always seem to come out too chewy or dry. This was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
My whole family loved these pancakes. They are very light and fluffy with a hearty wheat flavor. My only complaint is they were very oily. I would try reducing the oil or leaving it out. Worth experimenting a little. One more thing ~ this recipe made double for me over what it states in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Excellent recipe!! This is my favorite pancake recipe on here so far. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
These are super tasty & hearty! I didn't have pastry flour, so I used half whole wheat flour & half reg. AP flour. Delicious! They were a hit w/ my 5 yr. old and my Husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I halfed this but still used 2 full egg whites, reg whole wheat flour, sprinkle of Splenda and 1/2 tsp of vanilla. MMMMMM my two year old ate three full pancakes. They were light and fluffy and plain delicious. This is a breakfast that I was happy to serve to my family. I'm going to try and cut down on the oil and see what happens. Thanx for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
The BEST whole wheat pancakes ever. I have tried many whole wheat recipes, and this one surpasses them all by far. Used 4 egg whites instead of 2 eggs, and pastry flour. They were very light, fluffy and moist. You could hardly tell they were whole grain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
These pancakes are delicious. The perfect way to make a traditional treat a little healthier! A provided a link to this recipe in my article entitled "Healthy Foods for a Vegetarian Diet."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States