Wheat Bread with Flax Seed Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
The water on this recipe is way too high. Back off to around 1c of water and add if necessary. I ended up adding around 3/4c of additional flour, making this a 1.5lb loaf (thus it didn't have enough honey or flax). I did a pretty coarse grind on the flax (just enough to break the seeds up) and it was great in the bread, but there wasn't enough in the bread. If you decide to do this recipe w/ the current water amount given, add about 1/2c to 3/4c of flour, make it 6tbl of honey and 1c of flax and it'll be great. Good luck! I'll be doing this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
This recipe has way too much water & honey. I had to keep adding flour and the loaf was very heavy and sunken in the middle. It also did not completely bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
good, tasty, healthy, and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
Even though this is a healthy recipe it didn't taste yeasty enough for me. It was OK with either fruit spread on it or peanut butter, butter, or whatever, but I wasn't crazy about the taste. I followed other good advice about using less water and it did fine in my machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I thought this was just average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Wilson Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crab Orchard, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Xenia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
I have made this bread twice and both times it never got very high at all and I have had to add at least 3/4 cup of flour because it was too runny perhaps is there too much water?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Verbunker-lancour

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Munising, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I ended up adding extra flour, but expected that due to the previous reviews. This bread is wonderful. I've been trying different recipes with lots of fiber, and this is my favorite. It's light, nutty, and makes great toast. I'll be using this for sandwiches since the honey isn't overpowering in the taste. This is going to be a hard recipe to beat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Yummy! The nutty flax flavor and honey go so well together. I doubled the recipe and made it by hand, using 1 C flax and 1/4 C honey total. Really good! I'm just getting into using flax and this makes me eager to try more recipes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I love this bread.Making it by hand though I ended up having to add extra flour since the original dough was way too moist.I'll be doubling this recipe next time since the one loaf barely last 2 days.You've got to try this bread,you won't be let down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Excellent. I make a couple of loaves of this each week. My six year old loves it and I like it enough to eat it plain. I have a slice of it almost every morning. I use two cups of hard white whole wheat flour and a cup of processed all-purpose flour. This makes a 1 1/2 pound loaf. Works great for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States