Whatch You Want Watermelon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I brought this to a block party and I let it saturate overnight like the recipe calls for. It was WAY too strong. I used 1- 750ml bottle and that was WAY too much! Def won't be serving this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I tried this method and it didnt soak up into my watermelon. I left it in the fridge overnight and it seemed that not even a small amount went into the melon. I even tried using a funnel. After the failed attempts, I just figured it was because my melon was too juicy and wouldnt take in anymore liquid. So I just cut it up and threw some different rums over top of it. It was good... but I thought the alcohol ruined the flavor of the watermelon. For some that wants to get tipsy, this would be easily done since it goes down so easily. Thanks for the recipe idea, I prefer mine plain, but this may be good to make again for a big bash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I've been making this for years (we call it Drunken Watermelon though), using this exact method. I made it for a 4th of July party this weekend and everyone loved it. I love that you can use cheap-o vodka because you can't taste the alcohol, no matter what. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
The watermelon didn't absorb the alcohol so I can't give this a good rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
You can't even taste the vodka. We tested it out again with really cheap vodka and still couldnt taste it, which was amazing. Watch out, you will get drunk and not see it coming. Use seedless watermelon- the seeds got annoying. def give it hours to soak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica
Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
This didn't quite work for me, even though I followed the directions to a T. The vodka never absorbed into the watermelon even though I gave it 24 hours. Maybe if I had drained the juice out first??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waddell, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
WOooooooooooweeeeeeeeeeee! Use pure grain instead of vodka. These sneak up on ya! Makes for a very fun party and great conversation piece and no blender needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
brought back too many memories of high school parties...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
Good recipe. Instead of Vodka I used Captain Morgan Parot's Bay. It is a pretty good flavored rum. We went to the beach and had a blast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
This was great! I made it for a Fourth of July BBQ. All of the adults loved it! great idea, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sliced Watermelon Jell-O® Shots

See how to super-fun watermelon Jell-O shots. They’re cute with a kick!

Watermelon Cucumber Juice

This cool, refreshing juice stars cucumbers, watermelon, and lime.

The Guatermelon Especial Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a refreshing rum and watermelon cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States