What the ELLE...Baked Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Fun to make, yummy to eat. Needs a good dipping sauce like Asian mustard or something with ginger. Slice the water chestnuts really thin and follow the "finely diced" instructions on the chicken. I cut the carrots to 1 cup, subbed jalapeno for the bell pepper, and added sliced mushrooms (good call!). Don't spray the edges much with the cooking spray or they will get too brown/crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Winnetka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I tried this recipe for girls night an it was such a great choice! It's become a favourite amongst my family and friends. We made the recipe with spring roll wrappers instead of egg roll wrappers and it made almost 40 spring rolls. I also made them with fresh ingredients as well, I thought it might be a little better. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I was uncertain about bell pepper, and brown sugar, in egg rolls. My instinct was correct, they were the strangest tasting egg rolls ever. Second time I omitted both ingredients, added napa cabbage and thinly sliced snow peapods. Also a small amount of Five Spice powder replaced the cayenne. The trick is to let the filling cool almost completely before trying to fill the wrappers. Doing it when it is still hot makes the wrapper get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I tweaked this quite a bit on everything but the sauce. I used a Rainbow bagged salad with what I thought was shredded cabbage, red cabbage, broccoli, and carrots. It was actually shredded cauliflower, red cabbage, carrots, and broccoli florets. Oh well, still put it in there. No sprouts or chestnuts(forgot them at the store). I also used roasted peppers. This is the same as the TOH recipe I always used, and I still love it! So easy and tasty for a quick meal. I made a mayo, coarse mustard, and dijon dipping sauce for it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I LOVE eggrolls but hate frying them. This recipe was wonderful. I made it without the sugar, but it still came out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This was my first time making egg rolls and I like the baking idea. However, I didn't care for the filling. It tasted like carrots and that's about all. Will check other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
These were terrific. Love baking them instead of frying. The filling adapts well to changes. For example, I used a bag of "coleslaw mix" (shredded cabbage with some carrots) instead of bean sprouts and water chestnuts. I sautéed the cabbage mix with onions, mushrooms and seasonings. Added shredded leftover chicken. Think this would work well with sausage, pork, even hamburger. I added just a bit of sesame oil to the cornstarch mixture. Lots of room for personal tastes without losing the intent of the original recipe. I did use the cooking spray and my Silpat sheet. Would like to try brushing on some peanut oil instead. Did not add the sugar, since we served with sweet and sour sauce. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I've never made egg rolls before, but I loved how I didn't have to fry them. I kept the sugar and I only had to cook them for about 12 minutes. I also wish I had used fresh bean sprouts since I try to not cook with canned food (with BPA,) but I have no idea where to get non-canned water chestnuts. I didn't even add the chicken, but I like how flexible this recipe is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I made this and enjoyed it very much. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
We enjoyed the idea of baking these instead of frying for a healthier version. Egg Roll filling always reminds me of soup... add whatever you like or what you have on hand. I did skip the sugar; added some finely shredded cabbage, fresh grated ginger, bamboo shoots, and bean threads instead of bean sprouts. Turned them over half way thru baking, watch the timing. Served these with homemade Plum Sauce from this site. These made a very nice, tasty meal for Chinese New Year. Thanks for sharing, HoneyBooBoo. This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Baked Chicken Nuggets

See how to make a tasty appetizer that’s also a real kid-pleaser.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States