What the ELLE...Baked Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Pretty tasty - much healthier than frying. Next time I would leave the sugar out - it made the filling just a tad too sweet for me. I might add a little fresh ginger along with the garlic. Mine took about 20 minutes - turning after 10 minutes. Keep an eye on them - they can go from just right to too brown in moments. Thanks for the recipe Elle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Great basic recipe-- I was pleasantly surprised with the results of oven frying in this recipe. However I preferred to skip the cans and use fresh ingredients such as grated cabbage and bean sprouts. Instead of sugar, I used a bit of sweet chili sauce. I also made a dipping sauce of soy sauce, sesame oil, sesame seeds and sweet chili sauce and we enjoyed these for the main meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Taste much better than deep fried. I ledt out the sugar and brushed the tops with olive oil mixed with a little fresh ginger. Sprinkled with sesame seeds. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I tweaked this quite a bit on everything but the sauce. I used a Rainbow bagged salad with what I thought was shredded cabbage, red cabbage, broccoli, and carrots. It was actually shredded cauliflower, red cabbage, carrots, and broccoli florets. Oh well, still put it in there. No sprouts or chestnuts(forgot them at the store). I also used roasted peppers. This is the same as the TOH recipe I always used, and I still love it! So easy and tasty for a quick meal. I made a mayo, coarse mustard, and dijon dipping sauce for it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I was uncertain about bell pepper, and brown sugar, in egg rolls. My instinct was correct, they were the strangest tasting egg rolls ever. Second time I omitted both ingredients, added napa cabbage and thinly sliced snow peapods. Also a small amount of Five Spice powder replaced the cayenne. The trick is to let the filling cool almost completely before trying to fill the wrappers. Doing it when it is still hot makes the wrapper get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This was my first time making egg rolls and I like the baking idea. However, I didn't care for the filling. It tasted like carrots and that's about all. Will check other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
These were terrific. Love baking them instead of frying. The filling adapts well to changes. For example, I used a bag of "coleslaw mix" (shredded cabbage with some carrots) instead of bean sprouts and water chestnuts. I sautéed the cabbage mix with onions, mushrooms and seasonings. Added shredded leftover chicken. Think this would work well with sausage, pork, even hamburger. I added just a bit of sesame oil to the cornstarch mixture. Lots of room for personal tastes without losing the intent of the original recipe. I did use the cooking spray and my Silpat sheet. Would like to try brushing on some peanut oil instead. Did not add the sugar, since we served with sweet and sour sauce. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I made this and enjoyed it very much. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
We enjoyed the idea of baking these instead of frying for a healthier version. Egg Roll filling always reminds me of soup... add whatever you like or what you have on hand. I did skip the sugar; added some finely shredded cabbage, fresh grated ginger, bamboo shoots, and bean threads instead of bean sprouts. Turned them over half way thru baking, watch the timing. Served these with homemade Plum Sauce from this site. These made a very nice, tasty meal for Chinese New Year. Thanks for sharing, HoneyBooBoo. This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Disclaimer: I am only rating the sauce. It went perfect with the ingredients I used for the filling! I used white sugar instead of brown and flour instead of cornstarch since it was all I had. The filling stayed together nicely and was neither too sweet nor too salty (which is usually my problem making Asian food). Thank you so much Honeybooboo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Baked Chicken Nuggets

See how to make a tasty appetizer that’s also a real kid-pleaser.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States