Wet Burrito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This is it! This is the recipe I have been looking for. I had wet burritos when I was growing up in West Michigan. Could not find it ever again when I moved from there. Please do not compare with regular burritos that are made in the south. These have their own identity and taste. I made these for my family and got total rave reviews all around the table. Thank you for posting this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Took what I considered to be a chance on this recipe since I had some chopped meat and wanted to try a different recipe form the usual taco meat. Jar gravy ?? I dont even use jar gravy @ Thanksgiving but I tried the recipe as is...and...loved it! Did NOT like the left overs couple days later but that wont stop me from making again. Thanks W. Michigan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Coming from GR Michigan, I have been trying to duplicate this and could never get the sauce right! Thank you...we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I know I'm going against the pack here but we were really excited to try this recipe and were a bit dissapointed. We thought the sauce was a bit bland and are trying to figure out if it was the jar of gravy that really turned us off. It just wasn't for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caitperszyk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
The flavor was amazing, but the steps to make and assemble were trying as I was also trying to calm my 3 month old baby. I will make again, but when I have someone watching my little one. I put 2 unbaked burritos in the freezer for future meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Wet burritos are a favorite here. I ran out of time so didn't bake them, just filled, rolled and then covered with sauce hot from the pan and veggies. Not quite the same but still quite good. I made homemade sauce and used fresh tomatoes rather than canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
OH YUM!! Made exactly as written and I wouldn't change a thing. These are the best burritos I have ever made. Thanks Jordan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I make alot of traditional mexican food but sometimes you just want sloppy truck stop burritos and this is it. It goes together fast and it is eaten fast. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
A popular Mexican restaurant serves a fantastic dish called “Pepe’s Burro”. One main difference is that it has chunks of beef rather than ground beef. The beef gravy flavor from the sauce is much more pronounced in this recipe, and I would tame it down next time these are made. In fact, might eliminate the jar gravy and just go with 2 cans enchilada sauce, beef bouillon flavoring, and a little flour or corn starch if the sauce needs thickening. Otherwise, these burritos are pretty good. A minor detail . . . lightly mist the bottom of baking dish with a cooking spray. Thank you Jordan for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
This got raves from my husband. He even went as far as to say it is better than On The Border's food. While this was good it wasn't the same flavor as OTB. This was mild and more Midwesternized than TexMex. I don't know how this can only yield 4 burritos though as I got 8 and they were stuffed and I still had some filling left. I didn't have refried beans so I took a can of Ranch Style beans non-drained and smashed them up some and went from there. I mixed the bean/comino mix into the meat so all I had to do to build these was a scoop of beef/bean mix and some cheese then roll up and move on to the next one. I only used 2/3 a can of diced tomatoes and did add a pinch of kosher salt to the beef mix. I used medium spice canned enchilada sauce and a jar of brown gravy. I didn't have a lot of just Cheddar so I used a mexican cheese blend mix too. This was a nice mild dish and my husband raved. He is looking forward to taking the leftovers to work for lunch and sharing. We eat a lot of Mexican food and this passed our taste test. This was not my favorite but hubs loved it and had seconds so that makes it a keeper. My biggest complaint? It dirtied a lot of pots! Oh well, the food is good and that is what matters most. Thanks, I really enjoyed trying out this new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Wet Burritos

Seasoned beef-and-bean burritos smothered with enchilada sauce.

Burrito Pie

This spicy casserole features layers of seasoned beef, beans, and cheese.

Salsa Chicken Burrito Filling

See how to make a quick, saucy shredded chicken filling for burritos and tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States