Wet-Bottom Shoofly Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I've made numerous recipes for Shoofly Pie and this one was easy and turned out great! wonderful treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I have been making this pie for years. It's a great recipe. Love it!!! I made one for a family member today. Came on to print a copy of this and figured I should rate it. I give it 5 stars *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
my family is pa dutch as are all of our neighbors. where i come from it is imperative for a woman to know how to make the very best of the traditional pa dutch foods. i make one of the best shoo flies in the county nd i use this recipe(with a few minor changes). thankyou for posting this recipe ....btw..if you mess this recipe up then you should probably work on your baking skills.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2000
No doubt a true PA Dutch staple. One bite and I was immediately taken back to my home town in Berks County. Molasses (blackstrap is preferred) is the key ingrediant... Also, a variation that my folks use is "Turkey Syrup" rather than corn syrup - - - I have never been able to find it though outside of Berks or Lancaster counties. Thanks Bea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
This recipe is awesome. I have been looking for a traditional Shoo-Fly pie, and this is it! The only thing that I would change is to add more shortening to make the crumbs, especially if you don't have a pastry cutter. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mistergcoffee
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
what's the purpose of trying to 'layer' the crumbs when they sit on top of the liquid as you pour through? I ended up with a thick floury crumb layer on the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
A very good recipe- my family is Pennsylvania Dutch in heritage, though we now live near Philadelphia. This is like the Dutchies make it! I was successful using 1 cup molasses (Brer Rabbit brand makes a full flavor, which I like, and mild flavor for those who want a tamer version) instead of the 1/2 molasses, 1/2 corn syrup blend. I have never krown a PA Dutchie to use corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I made this recipe several different times, I need to know if the crust is supose to absorb the molasses mixture? That looks to me like the pie burnt. Is that why it is called Wet bottom? I find it hard to cut it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This tasted nothing like the shoofly pie I had in PA. I ended up throwing it in the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
There crumbs are all used to top the pie in a real Pa. Dutch pie. They are not mixed with other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States