Wet-Bottom Shoofly Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2000
No doubt a true PA Dutch staple. One bite and I was immediately taken back to my home town in Berks County. Molasses (blackstrap is preferred) is the key ingrediant... Also, a variation that my folks use is "Turkey Syrup" rather than corn syrup - - - I have never been able to find it though outside of Berks or Lancaster counties. Thanks Bea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
This recipe is awesome. I have been looking for a traditional Shoo-Fly pie, and this is it! The only thing that I would change is to add more shortening to make the crumbs, especially if you don't have a pastry cutter. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
my family is pa dutch as are all of our neighbors. where i come from it is imperative for a woman to know how to make the very best of the traditional pa dutch foods. i make one of the best shoo flies in the county nd i use this recipe(with a few minor changes). thankyou for posting this recipe ....btw..if you mess this recipe up then you should probably work on your baking skills.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I've made numerous recipes for Shoofly Pie and this one was easy and turned out great! wonderful treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I have been making this pie for years. It's a great recipe. Love it!!! I made one for a family member today. Came on to print a copy of this and figured I should rate it. I give it 5 stars *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
A very good recipe- my family is Pennsylvania Dutch in heritage, though we now live near Philadelphia. This is like the Dutchies make it! I was successful using 1 cup molasses (Brer Rabbit brand makes a full flavor, which I like, and mild flavor for those who want a tamer version) instead of the 1/2 molasses, 1/2 corn syrup blend. I have never krown a PA Dutchie to use corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I made this recipe several different times, I need to know if the crust is supose to absorb the molasses mixture? That looks to me like the pie burnt. Is that why it is called Wet bottom? I find it hard to cut it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This tasted nothing like the shoofly pie I had in PA. I ended up throwing it in the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
There crumbs are all used to top the pie in a real Pa. Dutch pie. They are not mixed with other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
I came across this website and thought this recipe seemed quite easy and that it would come out pretty good-- no way! I used the other reviewer's advice and added extra shortening to the crumb mixture and was using blackstrap molasses as well but it turned into a molasses goo. Did anyone else have this problem? This is my FIRST disgraceful baking experience of all my 12 or so years baking many different recipes!! I've moved on to find a more authentic Pennsylvania Dutch recipe for shoo-fly pie, if I find a good one I'll post it on here.... I give this recipe 2 thumbs down! Suzie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States