Western Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
This recipe is absolutey wonderful! My girlfriend requests this recipe very often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
This salad was great soon after preparation but after a few hours in the fridge, the lettuce was soggy and the dressing became watery. Don't wait too long to eat it and you'll love it! Kraft makes the best bottled ranch dressing I've tried, but I will use homemade next time. Also, don't use ranch-style black beans. The black color is not very appetizing when it hits the veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I've had this in my recipe box for ages, but haven't made as I never seen Ranch-style beans. I found them in Meijer last week. This salad is absolutely outstanding! I omitted the green bell pepper as I don't like it raw, and pretty much just eyeballed the other ingredients. We loved it. I'll definitely make it again. Thanks, Leslie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Much better than I thought it would be. After I made it, I thought this is just another salad, but the different vegetables went together really well. I made a few substitutions: used finely chopped sweet onion, spring mix lettuce, and chili beans, no radishes. Made a great meal salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Too much work! Decent salad though. I used normal tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Healthy with an interesting spin! Served this with a Southern Living lentil burrito recipe and Mexican Rice III from this website. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I make a similar version of this, but its more of a main dish. I brown hamburger and toss it with the ranch style beans, lettuce, tomatoes, cucumbers, black olives, green peppers, ranch, shredded cheese and Doritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 23DAISYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
HUGE salad. But quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieLovinHippie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
With all the vegetables and chopping required, this salad was just too much work. The ratio of vegetables to lettuce was off (too many veggies, not enough lettuce) - didn't seem like a "salad." Not a bad taste, but not memorable and not easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was surprisingly goooood! I didn't have cucumbers, green onion or radishes but it still turned out great. I wish I wouldn't have poured the whole bottle of ranch on the salad because I don't like so much dressing on my salads. I used Doritos nacho-flavored chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States