West Indian Curried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
My family enjoyed this . They are asking for more . I added some thyme and allspice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miami Gardens, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Wonderful, thank you so much! I did not have potatoes on hand, so used two green plantain, cut into chunks, and since we like things very spicy, added one green and one yellow scotch bonnet from our garden, diced. Did not use the salt at all, due to health reasons having us really cut down on salt content. Great recipe and the perfect technique for a wonderful, moist chicken, thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This was extremely easy to make and very flavorful. I'll definitely make it again. I actually added some carrots as well. I didnt have any peppers buy next time I'll glaldy add them too. I'm a big curry fan so if you are too I'd try this out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I love this simple but tasty recipe! I brown the chicken first, then put it in my slow cooker. I peel the potatoes and pop them in. I then cook the onions and garlic and add the Jamaican spice mix, then add some stock and poor it in the slow cooker. I on high for 4 hours and the chicken falls off the bone. Delicious. Minimum fuss. Thank you so much for the recipe, it's a keeper x
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
This is a good basic recipe! First time I made it as written second time I made a few changes to suit our taste reduced the salt added a tsp of thym,cut the curry powder in half and added some chicken seasoning! now when I make this I throw it in my slow cooker and cook it all day! Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
It was OK, I made it as stated except for the high amount of salt... I used1/2 tsp. To me it tasted like it was missing something. I did not have the hot pepper sauce though, so that might have been it ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
It was delicious! I would suggest adding water as it cooked and more curry powder by taste and I added fresh hot peppers. It's one of my fiances New favorites I didn't give 5 only because I changed a few small things. Great recipe :)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This recipe is fantastic! I used normal curry that I got from a local Korean store, and added half a cup of it instead of just a quarter. I also used about 10 cloves of garlic instead of the amount that it called for. I tend to like things a bit stronger. I did use the amount of salt that was called for and actually just a tad less. It turned out perfect. Those who wanted more could most certainly add more, so I think less is a little better. In any case it was delicious and popular! I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Recipe is very simple and very good. I made a few mods (as most everyone will); reduce salt to 1t.,Spice Island Curry Powder (because that was what I had), , replace water with 1 can coconut milk Thank you DANIELLE2877! I'm all about the simple recipe. I can improvise whenever I want to add more "flash".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States