West Indian Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This was pretty good. I subbed zucchini for the bell pepper, added garlic and onion, and served it over brown rice. Next time I would cut the vinegar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
WOW!! Pretty good. The person who said there is nothing Indian about this dish, should be ashamed of themselves. It's WEST Indian. lol.... Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This recipe was amazing! I added some onion and garlic to give it a little extra flavor. I served it over brown rice. My boyfriend loved it, too! Next time, I will add some crushed red pepper to give some kick, because I love spicy food. I have no complaints about the way this recipe is written, though. Very good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princessba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
There is nothing remotely West Indian about this dish apart from the brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dexter
Home Town: Marabella, San Fernando, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Tacarigua, Tunapuna-Piarco, Trinidad And Tobago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Dish was alright - not a big hit with me, though the bf liked it. I did cut down on the bbq sauce a bit though. After reading some of the reviews I'd just like to add that West Indian refers to the West Indies aka the Caribbean. NOT India. And yes, West Indian food is a nice mixture of Indian, African, Chinese, Persian, Spanish, French and English cuisine. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I made this with chicken thighs (removed the skin, then followed the recipe). Initially this was really dry, so I ended up adding more of the BBQ sauce ingredients. The only other real change I made was to add some garlic powder. I served it over rice, and it was ok - I think it might be better in a hoagie (like a pulled pork sandwich, but with pulled chicken). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I live in the west indies and although this was good I didn't find anything special about this until I added pineapple and seasoning pepper sauce. Will added more tomatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseau, Saint George Parish, Dominica
Living In: Morne Daniel, Saint Paul Parish, Dominica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
Delicious and simple. My kids all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I liked this recipe a lot. It could benefit form some more spices in my opinion. I added corriander to it and thickened the sauce a bit with some flour before I added the pulled chicken meat. It was raved about at my table. To the reviewer who is geographically challenged...the reason it does not resemble an Indian dish is because it is called "West Indian Chicken". That means the Caribbean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
I omitted the vegetables and used chicken legs instead of a whole chicken. It was really good, but if you don't like a sweet sauce forget this one. I will make this again without the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States