West Coast Trail Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Very good, easy to make, bake up nice, perfect bake time in my convection oven. I did make a few modifications, coconut butter for the fat, oat bran replaced flax meal and almond extract rather than vanilla. They smell fantastic before the timer went off. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inez Quinn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I only used one cup of brown sugar and no white sugar. I forgot the chocolate chips but they were still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Good recipe but too sweet for our taste. Next time will cut sugar down drastically. Substituted Turbinado sugar for white sugar since we love the big crystals in cookies. Also substituted 1/2 C coconut butter for regular butter. I toasted the pumpkin seeds - NOT a good idea. They burn easily and do not need the extra roasting - they cook enough as the cookies bake. I always add large crystal sea salt last as it gives little bursts of salt in the cookies which my husband discovered and we do with all cookie recipes. It is definitely a wooden spoon recipe as the batter gets very stiff with the final additions. Be sure to use a big bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Wonderful cookie recipe - so good that I had to hide them from myself. Only change I made was to use 1/2 cup of coconut oil and 1/2 cup butter. The directions on this recipe are excellent. Even the baking time of 12 minutes is perfect. Thank you for sharing your 5 star recipe westcoastmom! It is a definite keeper for me - give it a try - you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This is a really good cookie. If you aren't worried about keeping it nut free then add coarsely chopped cashews. Otherwise I follow the recipe exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This is a great cookie and very versatile. I had to make 3 changes based on what I had at home. 1) light brown sugar because my dark is hard as a rock 2) sunflower seeds rather than pumpkin and 3) because I made these during Lent and I gave up chocolate, I made the cookies with cinnamon chips. We loved these cookies. I made them to take on vacation and DH kept eating them and taking them to a friend at work. I finally hid them in the freezer. We really like the taste of the cinnamon chips in this cookie, and I would probably use them again. Thanks, westcoastmom for sharing your fabulous recipe. I know I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Wow! This is a perfect cookie! Delicious, hearty, and easy to make. If you are looking for a chocolate chip cookie with super powers, this is the one! The directions were right one. Though I did not have pumpkin seeds, so I used sunflower seeds instead. I also added walnuts. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Love these cookies! My new go-to recipe. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tobanj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
DELICIOUS and versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Really good, especially to send to school, as they're nut-free. I used some of the cook's notes (left out the white sugar and used quick oats). They turned out great and I will make again - love that this recipe makes a big batch - no need for me to double, and that there are so many substitutions you can make based on what's in your pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ste. Anne, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States