West Coast Cod and Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
I tried this (with the following modifications) and it was LOVED by all. I substituted a can of evaporated milk for the heavy cream, added 1 teas. of tarragon and baked it uncovered. It lowered the fat, increased the subtle herb flavoring and kept it from getting watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Three stars as written, as I see this recipe as only the foundation or starting point for a finished dish. I used halibut rather than cod, but that's neither here nor there and doesn't affect the recipe. I sweated the mushrooms along with the onion and garlic as I didn't need them to give off all their juices into the sauce as the dish was baking! I didn't add cornstarch or milk, as neither was necessary if you simply reduce the cream to thicken. The cream sauce needed flavor beyond the dill and a little sherry was the obvious choice. I didn't use the Parmesan - I guess being Italian I have a bias against using cheese with fish or other seafood! Finally, since this was to be baked at 350 degrees for 30 minutes (perfect time and temperature by the way), there was no need to cover it and have it "stew" rather than bake, also holding on to all of the juices which would only have made the sauce more liquidy. This turned out to be a rich, flavorful dish, with both the shrimp and the fish perfectly cooked. The sherry, as Hubs so aptly put it, definitely gave the dish character. I layered the shrimp over the fish filets, then poured the sauce over them. It isn't directed to do this in the recipe, but do salt and pepper your fish and shrimp before pouring over the sauce and baking! For a little color, sprinkle on a little paprika. The small changes I've outlined gave this dish definition and dimension and went a long way toward bringing this dish up to a good 4-star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Absolutely oustanding - so rich and elegant, but so easy to make. I made it pretty much as written - cut back on the parsley as we aren't huge fans - but I'm sure it would work just as well with any other white fish, and maybe a combination of shrimp and scallops. Thanks so much, Lynseey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
I made this recipe exactly as stated and I found the dill to be wayyyyy too overpowering for the rest of the ingredients :( So unless you're a big dill fan I'd cut back on it, other than that this was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
OBVIOUSLEY THIS IS ....GREAT STUFF IT IS SO YUMMY AND CUTE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This is really good! After reading other reviews, I doubled the sauce. It took a little tweaking to adjust the seasoning to my liking - I added red crushed pepper for spice and extra butter for richness. Served with rice and heavily seasoned green beans. Again, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
This recipe really was delicious! I used dry dill and only sprinkled it on for a bit of flavor rather than overpowering the simple ingredients, and it was great. My one complaint was that the sauce really watered down in the oven even though it was nice and thick prior to that. The fish seemed to give off water to thin it down...but the flavor on the rice was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
YUM!!!! I didn't have cream, so I threw in a can of cream o mushroom soup, left out the salt and cornstarch. This is my kind of comfort food! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenwood Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
by far one of the best recipes for fish. The fillets are moist and very tender. a very delicious dish i tell all my friends about and share this recipe with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I read some reviews before making this dish and I took some of the advice. I am not a fan of dill so I used some dried tarragon instead. I also added a dash of sherry and I am glad I did. The dish turned out fine but it would have been very bland without the sherry. I omitted the milk and cornstarch and I did not cover the dish when I put it in the oven. The sauce had a nice consistency and was not too watery. Overall, I found the effort I put into this dish was not worth the outcome. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catwoman1011

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regensburg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States