West Coast Cod and Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
WOW! That was awesome! I tweaked it a little. 2% evaporated milk, 1 tbls. more butter, 2 tsp. taragon, doubled the onion, tripled the garlic (we're fiends), shredded 1/4 cp. Parmesan in the sauce, then served it with red pepper flakes, Parmesan, and fresh parsley over noodles. I'm so satisfied! What an awesome recipe to work with! And it's less fatty but you wouldn't know it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
O M G...this was soooooo good!!! I did make a few minor changes...I used a can of evaporated milk instead of the cream as suggested by another reviewer, I added some old bay, and I had fully cooked frozen shrimp so I just thawed them and added them to the mix when it was all finished cooking. Oh, and I also used 8 oz. of mushrooms because they needed to get used up and we like mushrooms up in here. And I sauteed them with the onion. The only other thing I did was I did not make the rice, but made biscuits instead and just served this like a seafood biscuits and gravy. YUM!!! Seriously one of the best recipes I've made on here :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I made this and I was at first not want to do this with cornstarch as a base for the cream, I am glad I did it was very creamy and smooth. I will now have my cook at school start her cream gravy's with cornstarch. I did use whole and peeled shrimp. I added the shrimp the last 8 min because it does not need 30 min. Any way very good way to go Lynseey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I used 1 1/2 pounds of perch instead of cod. I'm glad I had some extra fish as it made a lot of sauce. Its says seasoning salt to taste so there really isnt any excuse for anyone to call this bland. I threw in some old bay to the sauce which was a great touch. I considered using the canned salad shrimp because it is after all a sauce but decided to buy the raw peel and eat. I'm very much glad I did the shrimp and sauce were perfectly cooked and went very well together whithout overpowering the light fresh taste of the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
The flavor was good, but I thought it was bland too like one person has commented. I would definately use less heavy cream next time as I ended up with alot of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This was quite good. It was a little bland so I had to add some extra spices. I don't like to use that much cream either so I used 1 cup cream and 1/2 cup milk. I used 2 tbsp of corn starch to thinken the extra milk. I sauteed 1/2 cup onionand I had to add an extra tbsp of dill and a tbsp of garlic powder. I mixed 1 tbsp of parmesan cheese into the cream mixture and then topped it off in the end with another tbsp of parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberC2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Great flavor. I agree with the rest of the reviews that the sauce gets a little runny. We had it with rice, but I think it would have been even better over pasta. I didn't think the dill was overpowering. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kays

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livingston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I didn't have cream, so used evaporated milk but it worIed just as well. I also cooked uncovered after reading some reviews about it becoming too watery. I thought that this was good but richer than most meals I would eat and my husband didn't like it at all so I've given it 3 out of 5 stars. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
my husband absolutely love this recipe. I did substitue the heavy cream and with 1/2 and added can of cream of mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
My family loved this recipe! I modified it using MimicCream instead of real cream (at health food stores)and a rice blend. It tasted great and no one guessed that it was a low fat healthy recipe. The cod was perfect with this shrimp/mushroom cream sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States