West Coast Cod and Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Three stars as written, as I see this recipe as only the foundation or starting point for a finished dish. I used halibut rather than cod, but that's neither here nor there and doesn't affect the recipe. I sweated the mushrooms along with the onion and garlic as I didn't need them to give off all their juices into the sauce as the dish was baking! I didn't add cornstarch or milk, as neither was necessary if you simply reduce the cream to thicken. The cream sauce needed flavor beyond the dill and a little sherry was the obvious choice. I didn't use the Parmesan - I guess being Italian I have a bias against using cheese with fish or other seafood! Finally, since this was to be baked at 350 degrees for 30 minutes (perfect time and temperature by the way), there was no need to cover it and have it "stew" rather than bake, also holding on to all of the juices which would only have made the sauce more liquidy. This turned out to be a rich, flavorful dish, with both the shrimp and the fish perfectly cooked. The sherry, as Hubs so aptly put it, definitely gave the dish character. I layered the shrimp over the fish filets, then poured the sauce over them. It isn't directed to do this in the recipe, but do salt and pepper your fish and shrimp before pouring over the sauce and baking! For a little color, sprinkle on a little paprika. The small changes I've outlined gave this dish definition and dimension and went a long way toward bringing this dish up to a good 4-star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Excellent recipe! I did not have the mushrooms so I simply made it without them. I also subsitituted half & half for the heavy cream. I'd definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I made this using half and half intsead of the heavy cream, and 1 tsp dried dill instead of fresh, and it was amazingly good. It tasted like something you would pay a lot for at a restaurant, yet it was simple to make at home. I will definitely be making this again, although I think I will add more mushrooms and shrimp (about double of each) next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
WOW! That was awesome! I tweaked it a little. 2% evaporated milk, 1 tbls. more butter, 2 tsp. taragon, doubled the onion, tripled the garlic (we're fiends), shredded 1/4 cp. Parmesan in the sauce, then served it with red pepper flakes, Parmesan, and fresh parsley over noodles. I'm so satisfied! What an awesome recipe to work with! And it's less fatty but you wouldn't know it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
O M G...this was soooooo good!!! I did make a few minor changes...I used a can of evaporated milk instead of the cream as suggested by another reviewer, I added some old bay, and I had fully cooked frozen shrimp so I just thawed them and added them to the mix when it was all finished cooking. Oh, and I also used 8 oz. of mushrooms because they needed to get used up and we like mushrooms up in here. And I sauteed them with the onion. The only other thing I did was I did not make the rice, but made biscuits instead and just served this like a seafood biscuits and gravy. YUM!!! Seriously one of the best recipes I've made on here :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I made this and I was at first not want to do this with cornstarch as a base for the cream, I am glad I did it was very creamy and smooth. I will now have my cook at school start her cream gravy's with cornstarch. I did use whole and peeled shrimp. I added the shrimp the last 8 min because it does not need 30 min. Any way very good way to go Lynseey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I used 1 1/2 pounds of perch instead of cod. I'm glad I had some extra fish as it made a lot of sauce. Its says seasoning salt to taste so there really isnt any excuse for anyone to call this bland. I threw in some old bay to the sauce which was a great touch. I considered using the canned salad shrimp because it is after all a sauce but decided to buy the raw peel and eat. I'm very much glad I did the shrimp and sauce were perfectly cooked and went very well together whithout overpowering the light fresh taste of the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
The flavor was good, but I thought it was bland too like one person has commented. I would definately use less heavy cream next time as I ended up with alot of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This was quite good. It was a little bland so I had to add some extra spices. I don't like to use that much cream either so I used 1 cup cream and 1/2 cup milk. I used 2 tbsp of corn starch to thinken the extra milk. I sauteed 1/2 cup onionand I had to add an extra tbsp of dill and a tbsp of garlic powder. I mixed 1 tbsp of parmesan cheese into the cream mixture and then topped it off in the end with another tbsp of parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberC2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Great flavor. I agree with the rest of the reviews that the sauce gets a little runny. We had it with rice, but I think it would have been even better over pasta. I didn't think the dill was overpowering. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kays

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livingston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States