West African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I made this recipe tonight, and my husband and I did not care for it. It is way too peanut-buttery and rich for our taste, made me feel sick after eating half my bowl. Too bad because the ingredients (especially the red peppers and peanut butter) are not cheap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This recipe has become a staple at my house. I like to use the canned diced tomatoes with added green chilies for the extra spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I thought just OK... will not be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I'm giving it 5 stars b/c my vegan brother said it tasted amazing! I found it....interesting. Definitely tastes like peanut butter. I think if I made it again I'd cut the peanut butter in half & double up on the rice. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This was a fantastic soup! I cut the recipe in half, which made it just enough for two with lunch leftovers. I also used leftover rice from another dinner (2 c. cooked, which made it a bit heartier). The flavors are excellent. I know it seems like a lot of peanut butter, but you could still taste the tomatoes. And using a fresh chili pepper instead of the ground red pepper gave it just the right amount of kick. Thanks for posting this! I'm looking forward to making it for guests next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Yummy! I made this soup for a party of 20, which asked for 2 jars of peanut butter I ended up not using but 1&1/4 jars and 8 cans of chicken stock. I'm not crazy about onions so I used 1&1/2 biguns and pureed them in the blender with red bell peppers. I used some ancho chili powder, cardamom, cinnamon, and just a sprinkle of turbinado raw sugar. The soup got raved about and most people went back for seconds and thirds. Other reviewers recommended serving it with toasty bread and apples, so two loaves of toasted French bread and a baby spinach salad with apples, currents, toasted pumpkin seeds and blue cheese finished off the meal. Next time I'll try a little more chicken stock and kick it up with some jalapenos, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I made this for an ethnic food pot luck at church. But after I let my husband and daughter try it, I chickened out of taking it. They hated it! I thought it was alright, but VERY different. Not the kind of food for small-town folk. You can't eat very much of it in a sitting. It would make a better side dish than a main.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Really thick soup. Good if you like peanuts a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Hinkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
The flavor of this soup is wonderful. However, I think the cooking time was way too long - the finely chopped vegetables turned into mush before the rice was cooked. I would recommend coarsely chopping the veggies and cooking them until they're just tender, then adding pre-cooked rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Well i wanted a "different" soup and this is certainly unlike any other i have tasted- Thanks for the awsome idea! It is very filling (you dont really need bread). My housemate said it was the nicest soup she'd ever tasted. I agree it was very tasty- although i think you'd have to like peanut butter to enjoy it to the max!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States