West African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Very good! I'll make this again but I did two things differently. I used brown rice, but precooked it until almost done before adding it since brown rice takes longer to cook. And I would suggest blending until almost smooth. Don't blend so much as to break up the rice completely, but that combined with the addition of the peanut butter makes for a rich, thick, very warming and filling soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Really yummy soup, especially when it's cold outside. I used chicken stock instead of vegetable and added chunks of chicken as was suggested by another member, and it was delicious. Low fat peanut butter made it a little less rich, but next time I will probably just go ahead and decrease the amount of peanut butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I just made half a batch and it is delicious. I used one cup of natural peanut butter and threw in leftover rice (just eyeballed what I thought a good amt. would be) instead of cooking the rice in the broth. I added some extra red pepper for a little more kick and also about a T of sugar. I pureed mine before adding the peanut butter. I do think some fresh peppers would be great in it as well (jalapeno, serrano, etc). Its definitely peanut buttery, but I love peanut butter, so its a good thing for me :-) * update...it is very filling! It would be good served with something light and sweet. I also want to try making it without the rice and serving it over rice and stir fried bell peppers and onion, maybe carrot and broccoli as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justus&Dane's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This recipe is absolutely wonderful. I was actually concerned that it might be bland, but it was a rich and satisfying soup. The only changes I made was to use fresh serrano pepers that I had on hand, and only 1/2 jar of peanut butter, as that was all I had on hand, and it really turned out just right. Plus it smells wonderful and my house still smells good today, and I made it last night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzieBearCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I was a Peace Corps volunteer in Guinea in West Africa and this is a very popular dish there. This recipe is more or less the same as what they make there. I've had this probably 200 times and I still make it here in the US. I don't even use vegetable broth, water is fine. It's also good to add a sweet starchy vegetable like sweet potatoes or butternut squash. But the biggest difference between the African version and this recipe is how it's served. I was surprised to see this being served as a soup. It's very, very rich! In Africa, they typically pour two ladels or so over a plate of rice. And if you're serving it over rice, 2-3 lbs of chicken or beef turn it into a very hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This is such a tasty soup! The tomatoes and peanut butter together make a delicious combination. I didn't find that it was too spicy at all, just plain mouth watering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
sooo delicious! I didn't add as much peanut butter, I used basmati rice, and threw in some fresh cut green beans. A very good, comforting soup. Not as crazy as it sounds!!! :) :) ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashelena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I made this recipe tonight, and my husband and I did not care for it. It is way too peanut-buttery and rich for our taste, made me feel sick after eating half my bowl. Too bad because the ingredients (especially the red peppers and peanut butter) are not cheap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This recipe has become a staple at my house. I like to use the canned diced tomatoes with added green chilies for the extra spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I thought just OK... will not be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States