West African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I just finished cooking, and my family keeps sneaking a cup here and there---they love it! I didn't alter much---though I saved the red pepper for people to add individually ( I have little ones that aren't crazy about it), and was surprised it thickened up like it did. Definitely saving! Thanks!! :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by senecalakegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branchport, New York, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This soup is AWESOME! I had it for the first time in 2008 at a writers' retreat. The retreat took place at Lake Logan, NC and the staff there made this our first night. They ended up handing out quite a few copies of the recipe as everyone really loved it. It's just the right spicy, so very tasty, and not too difficult to make. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susanbellnc
Living In: Spruce Pine, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I liked this recipe more than I expected! I used half a jar of peanut butter and it turned out about right. The only reason I didn't give it a "5" is that I feel like it needs more spices, but I'm not exactly sure what to add. Overall, the peanut butter flavor gives the soup a sweet flavor and a smooth texture. Recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
A great vegetarian soup! I followed the recipe almost exactly, except I substituted sweet potatos for the bell peppers. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blackbird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
OMG! This is so good just the way it is written. If you are a peanut butter fanatic, you wont be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Celina, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carthage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Very good, although I made some adjustments. I added 4 chopped up carrots, 2 chopped celery stalks and left out the red bell pepper and rice. I used crushed tomatoes as well as canned diced and a little less peanut butter. I followed recipe directions but added peanut butter at same time as tomatoes and simmered uncovered about 2 hours. Served over brown rice cooked separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I was disappointed. It is WAY too peanut-buttery. Almost like eating straight peanut butter with the occasional tomato bite. If I ever make this again, I will cut the peanut butter by at least half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littleredhen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Creamy, flavorful. More filling than you'd expect. My family told me it's the best thing I've ever cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve Charb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This recipe was just not good. It was way too salty and there wasn't much flavor. To rescue it I turned it into pad thai. There are probably better recipes for this type of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I made it pretty much as is. Except I added African "pepper", which is like cayenne pepper. It definitely needed it, in addition to the red pepper flakes, for my taste. I threw the onions, garlic, and bell peppers in the food processor and it was finely chopped within a few seconds. I used virgin coconut and red palm oils. I recommend using a natural peanut butter: which is just peanuts and salt. It tastes (and looks) like a spicy, savory peanut sauce, not unlike what you would find in a Chinese restaurant with duck. I can imagine it would be nice with a roasted chicken thigh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ransomedheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States