Wendy's Quick Pasta and Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This is one of my favorite staples. I make large batches all the time and freeze leftovers in lunch sized portions to take to work. Sometimes I add mushrooms or other vegetables lying around. I recommend defrosting the spinach in the microwave and then drain it before adding it to the pot (the directions are a little ambiguous). I always have additional chicken broth on hand unless it comes out too dry. It's also good with whole wheat pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Moraga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I didn't know what to expect with this recipe, but it was incredible!! I'll definitely make this over and over again. I used a red onion, which was good and added extra garlic as I do in everything... also lots of crushed red pepper. Oh, and I used macaroni pasta... very, very yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2003
I really like this recipe and have made it a couple of times. It is extremely easy and quick so if you need something for the family you can whip it up. I usually do not use the ditalini- it really comes out fine with any kind of pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOLCE7VITA

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This recipe is absolutely delicious! Few things I changed, I used a large can 29oz I think, of diced tomatoes with italian seasonings in them. I also chopped up a fresh tomato and threw that in. I cooked two and a half turkey italian sausages and added those as well. Used shell pasta, as I couldnt find the ditalini.I also used a bag of fresh baby spinach instead of frozen. Eating a big bowl right now! Super easy! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Yum! If 2 out of 3 kids gave it a big thumbs up, we are definitely adding it to the rotation! I love it that no one had a clue about the lentils (tiny red ones cook up unrecognizable) and the spinach (they thought it was "herbs"). The only changes I made were to use just lentils instead of the soup, and half a jar of pasta sauce + one chopped tomato, and a bigger pasta shape (it's all I had on hand). Add your own spices and you've got a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
this recipe is wonderful! it's filling, healthy while still being flavorful! I followed the recipe exactly (even throwing in the frozen block of spinach- which ended up cooking thoroughly). The few modifications I did were: 1) added more red pepper flakes (to make it more spicy) 2) used whole grain rotini instead 3) added a few sprinkles of lemon juice to give the pasta a slight tangy flavor. Overall it was wonderful! Will definitely make it again...and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This turned out great. I used whole wheat pasta and the texture of that with the thickness of the sauce made this very satisfying. I also used a can of diced tomatoes(all I had on hand) instead of crushed and it didn't change the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
This was a great pasta recipe! My husband and I really enjoyed this easy recipe! I followed the directions except using a really large can of diced tomatoes since that is what I had on hand. I also added the spinach as a frozen block but since it was bothersome to keep pushing out the thawed spinach constantly while stirring I might stick it in the microwave next time. Used rotini pasta and served with the Quick and Easy Cheese Bread recipe from this site. By the way, had leftovers for DAYS! (they tasted good)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This recipe was a winner. Quick, healthy and tasty. The only change I was made was to use fresh spinach. Next time I would use whole wheat pasta, just for the health benefits. One point for leftovers...it works better to store the pasta and the lentil mixture separate, then mix together to heat. Otherwise, the pasta becomes too soft the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
I loved this recipe just the way it was, but my boyfriend said it could use some more tomatoes and some more pepper flakes to kick it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Pasta Fagioli

Watch how to make this top-rated recipe.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States