Wendy's Indian Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
My family loves this! It may not be traditional Butter Chicken, but is a great family pleaser and a great introduction to the basics. I usually make it as shown, but have found that cauliflower(frozen or fresh) works really well in it for some variety. Some Basmati rice, a couple of pieces of Naan bread... and no leftovers, ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hil
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I used 28 oz of canned tomatoes, 1 whole stick of butter, and 1 cup of cream. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This was my first Indian type dish, so I was a bit nervous. But after making this simple and delicious dish, I will keep it close in my recipe box!! I didn't change anything, as I have ZERO experience in this type of meal, but it was great, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blacksunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I love this recipe! And the kids do too. It's easy and delicious. I subbed canned tomato sauce for the whole tomatoes. There was no way I was messing with 8 of them. I put in about 2-3 cans of tomatoes depending on how much sauce I want, and a half cup(1 stick) of butter tasted better than 1/4 cup(half a stick) I've already made it twice more and the kids BEG for it. Hmm.. maybe next week again?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Love it! I added double the garam masala, and some curry powder. I also used canned tomato sauce and extra green pepper, added frozen peas and used yogurt instead of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I make this but don't use oil I take chicken quarters and place a dab of butter on each and about 1/4 c gram marsala and 2 T curry and rub this on the chicken and squeeze lemon on them and put in oven at 325 I then take a bowl and add 1 large can tomatoe crushed and to taste crushed red peppers 2 cloves garlic crushed and 1/2 sliced onions and one pint of cream 1 container of plain yogurt pour this on the chicken until cooked thorough and when I serve it I drizzle honey on it to take away the bitter taste you should also remove skin and extra fat first you can use chicken breast deboned I prefer with bone and serve with oven browned potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Highland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Runny, taseted like pureed tomatoes. More like a soup consistenscy when followed as is. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnsonaj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This was really good. I did substitute the heavy cream with yogurt. I served it with pita bread and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miramar, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This sauce is awesome-just what I was looking for! Unfortunately, I pre-cooked my chicken instead of cooking it in the sauce and it was a bit dry-next time I'll make it as written. I also added extra garam masala, butter and cream. Plus, I used 2 cans of tomato sauce and 1/2 can of tomato paste-it made it super easy and yummy! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Oh wow! This recipe is every bit as flavorful as the other reviewers make it out to be! Totally a keeper! I read a bunch of reviews and based on them substituted low-fat yogurt for the heavy cream, a can of tomato sauce for the fresh tomatoes, and increased the Garam Masala slightly. It turned out wonderfully and I feel so much better that there isn't heavy cream in it (for a healthier meal). Other reviewers suggested substituting mushrooms for the bell pepper, but I found the bell pepper adds a really nice flavor. I wouldn't substitute it at all, it really adds a lot. Anyways, that's my two cents :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States