Wendy's Indian Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This recipe was very easy to follow. My suggestion which made it taste like "real Indian" butter chicken was to add 1 cup of heavy cream and 1 cup of butter (it's butter chicken). If not you have a very green pepper or tomato taste. Also maybe another TBSP of garam masala. Made the recipe 100%!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
This is a great recipe me and my wife had been looking for! It's not too hard and comes out great. It is wonderful just as it is, but we also like it thicker... To thicken the sauce, you can try a couple of variations/substitions. Use an equivalent amount of tomato sauce in place of the tomatoes. This will cut down on the amount of prep time and be healthier as well because there will be more Lycopene. Another possible substitute is yogurt in place of the heavy cream (less fat). Lastly, cook it uncovered. This will thicken it even more. A wonderful recipe, do not pass it up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I have made this recipe soooo many times and variations.My family loves it, I prefer to use mushrooms instead of the green pepper and 2 tins of chopped tomatoes and not fresh ones, I always leave it to cook for an extra hour as this allows the sauce to thicken and condense......my 11y.o daughter(who hates spice) is now totally addicted to this recipe and would gladly eat it every second day!!!! All I can really say is that if you take the time to tweak it to your own tastes this is an absolute ripper of a dish,mmmmmmmmm!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I wouldn't call this Butter Chicken. Not even close, really. BUT, this is a really good recipe. I made a couple of modifications and my wife and guests LOVED it. I doubled the garlic, used three 8 oz cans of tomato sauce instead of tomatoes, added 1 tsp of cayenne pepper for a bit more kick and 6 oz of non-fat yogurt instead of the heavy cream. I am making this again for my parents real soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
Having lived in India as a kid, I was always frustrated that I could never really feel good about an Indian dish I made - until I made this one! Anyone can make it and it tastes FABULOUS! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
I gave this recipe 4 stars since it doesn't taste any mugh makhani I've ever had. That said, it's a tasty and simple introduction to Indian food. I made a half recipe (which could easily serve 4 if served over rice with a veggie side) to start. Instead of fresh tomatoes, I used 1 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes with jalapenos and 1 8 oz can of tomato sauce. I doubled the garlic and chili powder. I also added some frozen peas halfway through. Recipe was still on the mild side, heat-wise, but had a great taste. Leftovers were even better! My only other complaint would be that the recipe is fairly oily. I'd scale back on the amount of oil called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I had many problems with this recipe. It was WAY too bland and has WAY too many tomatoes. This was nothing like any Indian food I have had out. The recipe, as is, is terrible. Luckily (and after an extra 1 hour of time) I saved my recipe by added 5X the amount of spice called for (YES, 5X!!!!) and I tripled the amount of cream. You have to do this to make up for the overwhelming taste of pureed tomatoes. Wow. This was really something. I will not make this recipe again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
Before making this be sure you have a very BIG skillet. I only used 6 tomatoes and it came to the rim of my largest skillet. Not as easy as I thought since pureeing that many tomatoes in a blender is messy and time consuming (maybe my blender is too small). Anyway, I was disappointed that it was not spicier like the butter chicken we have out. BUT having said all that it was actually VERY tasty. Would make again with less tomatoes and more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Runny, taseted like pureed tomatoes. More like a soup consistenscy when followed as is. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnsonaj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Oh wow! This recipe is every bit as flavorful as the other reviewers make it out to be! Totally a keeper! I read a bunch of reviews and based on them substituted low-fat yogurt for the heavy cream, a can of tomato sauce for the fresh tomatoes, and increased the Garam Masala slightly. It turned out wonderfully and I feel so much better that there isn't heavy cream in it (for a healthier meal). Other reviewers suggested substituting mushrooms for the bell pepper, but I found the bell pepper adds a really nice flavor. I wouldn't substitute it at all, it really adds a lot. Anyways, that's my two cents :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States