Wendy's Indian Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This recipe was very easy to follow. My suggestion which made it taste like "real Indian" butter chicken was to add 1 cup of heavy cream and 1 cup of butter (it's butter chicken). If not you have a very green pepper or tomato taste. Also maybe another TBSP of garam masala. Made the recipe 100%!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I was disappointed with this recipe, I didn't think it was flavorful enough and all you could really taste was the tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Very bitter and sour, definitely not what I expect from Butter Chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ruislip, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This butter chicken has a really nice flavor, but it's definitely not as good as butter chicken I've had at restaurants. I'd give it 3 stars except I think part of the reason I didn't much care for it is because of some changes I made. I used 3 tablespoons of the garam masala instead of 2 as some people suggested, which made for a really nice flavor, but also made it a bit too spicy for our liking. I also used half and half cream rather than heavy cream, which made the sauce a little too runny. Would definitely use thick cream next time. I used chicken thighs rather than breasts as we find the darker meat more tender. I also used margarine instead of butter (which has worked fine in other butter chicken recipes I've used), but maybe that contributed as well. Overall, the sauce was not as tomatoey as I like, I think in large part due to the pureed pepper. When we had the leftovers I added a little tomato sauce which really helped. I may try this recipe again but next time will follow the recipe exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I wouldn't call this Butter Chicken. Not even close, really. BUT, this is a really good recipe. I made a couple of modifications and my wife and guests LOVED it. I doubled the garlic, used three 8 oz cans of tomato sauce instead of tomatoes, added 1 tsp of cayenne pepper for a bit more kick and 6 oz of non-fat yogurt instead of the heavy cream. I am making this again for my parents real soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
I served this for my in-laws and they loved it!! It was so delicious; it made me miss New Delhi all over again. Just be sure to use a HUGE skillet- a reg. 12 inch won't do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Galesburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
Before making this be sure you have a very BIG skillet. I only used 6 tomatoes and it came to the rim of my largest skillet. Not as easy as I thought since pureeing that many tomatoes in a blender is messy and time consuming (maybe my blender is too small). Anyway, I was disappointed that it was not spicier like the butter chicken we have out. BUT having said all that it was actually VERY tasty. Would make again with less tomatoes and more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
This is a great recipe me and my wife had been looking for! It's not too hard and comes out great. It is wonderful just as it is, but we also like it thicker... To thicken the sauce, you can try a couple of variations/substitions. Use an equivalent amount of tomato sauce in place of the tomatoes. This will cut down on the amount of prep time and be healthier as well because there will be more Lycopene. Another possible substitute is yogurt in place of the heavy cream (less fat). Lastly, cook it uncovered. This will thicken it even more. A wonderful recipe, do not pass it up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
I still rate this 5 stars cause I think *Im* the one who messed up! Mine was very tomatoe-y... not very creamy or buttery like I've had in Indian restaurants. I couldn't find garam masala ANYWHERE! I used hot curry and cumin. I gotta try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
Excellent recipe! Quick and easy, yet also delicious! For extra spice, I added a dash of crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States