Wendy's Indian Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
For the amount of time we had to put into it (not much), this was an adequate Indian dish. Unfortunately, I did not read the reviews beforehand and made the mistake of subbing half and half for heavy whip - the result was a watery sauce that was almost like salsa - very tomato-y. I found the amount of spice to be just fine as called for by the recipe, but I was disappointed with the consistancy. Next time (if there is one), I'll use a few less tomatoes and heavy whip, and maybe a touch more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABALONE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kidron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I had many problems with this recipe. It was WAY too bland and has WAY too many tomatoes. This was nothing like any Indian food I have had out. The recipe, as is, is terrible. Luckily (and after an extra 1 hour of time) I saved my recipe by added 5X the amount of spice called for (YES, 5X!!!!) and I tripled the amount of cream. You have to do this to make up for the overwhelming taste of pureed tomatoes. Wow. This was really something. I will not make this recipe again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Very, very impressed. I've bought food from a restaurant that doesn't taste as good as this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southend-On-Sea, Essex, England, U.K.
Living In: Gainsborough, Lincolnshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
We enjoyed this recipe. My kitchen smelled like our local Indian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig J. Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
This was easy, and a one pot meal if you ignore the food processor. Great for an introduction to Indian food if you want to expose your family to new culture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Grinstead, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ruffway
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
A really great recipe! Prep time is under 15 mins. I served it with fresh pita bread on the side. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruffway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I actually forgot to add the butter and the cream, and it was still excellent. Will definately make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
This is truely an awesome awesome recipe. We serve with flat bread and it is great. Thanks so much. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Donlon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
My whole family loved it!! I use mushrooms instead of green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
I gave this recipe 4 stars since it doesn't taste any mugh makhani I've ever had. That said, it's a tasty and simple introduction to Indian food. I made a half recipe (which could easily serve 4 if served over rice with a veggie side) to start. Instead of fresh tomatoes, I used 1 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes with jalapenos and 1 8 oz can of tomato sauce. I doubled the garlic and chili powder. I also added some frozen peas halfway through. Recipe was still on the mild side, heat-wise, but had a great taste. Leftovers were even better! My only other complaint would be that the recipe is fairly oily. I'd scale back on the amount of oil called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States