Welsh Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
My grandfather was Welsh and I can remember my grandmother making Welsh cookies when I was a small child. I was so thrilled to see this recipe on the site and decided to give it a whirl after talking to a coworker from the UK who said he had not had the cookies since he was a kid either. My 3 year-old daughter helped me make the cookies and we both had a blast! Instead of currants (I couldn't find any at my local grocery store) we used dates because I don't particularly care for raisins. They tasted wonderful and came out looking great! My coworker from the UK said that they were excellent - just like the ones his Welsh "Nam" used to make. My boss loved them so much I swear he ate half the batch. Will definitely make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenPayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wampum, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
i love these, they remind me of scones. I mix spices(cinnamon, allspice and nutmeg) with the flour. Also i rolol the dough into balls and squash them on the pan. great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
Taste like the cookies I buy at the Celtic festivals from the Welsh Cookie Company. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
These are so good........ I used all butter and raisins. I also added 1/2 tsp. each of cinnamon and nutmeg along with a tsp. of vanilla. I have to admit I burnt the first batch and then adjusted the temperature of my pan accordingly. I sprinkled them with sugar and froze half the batch. Yet another breakfast treat for my husband to enjoy with his coffe at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I inherited my grandmother's recipe and it is different than this, we use all butter, no shortening and raisins instead of currents, and lots of nutmeg (2 tblspns), also we don't sprinkle sugar on top. It is great with coffee or tea and isn't very sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This almost the exact replica of my husband's Welsh great-grandmother's recipe. I use 1/2 Crisco and 1/2 unsalted butter. This is the one Christmas cookie that I always have to make. Great with a cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I made these for Christmas, followed the recipe exactly except for the second batch I made I added 1/4 cup more sugar, turned out great. Thank You...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hunlock Creek, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I love these cookies because I don't like really sweet treats. They do taste like scones. I added a little nutmeg and orange zest. Perfect with a cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cazuela
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Thank you for posting this. My Aunt and Grandmother used to make these and they are both gone now. I am grateful to be able to pass on this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
"Cakes" not cookies.. The welsh regard cookies as an American sweet biscuit kinda like the normal chocolate chip cookie. You can like this recipe decorate it with sugar or spread a thin layer of butter to give it a little moisture. Ideally eaten with a nice cup of tea or as a chocolate bar alternative in a lunch box. The best way to cook the cakes are on an old cast iron pan where it has a used natural coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States