Welsh Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Actually welsh cakes should be made with dripping, but that is hard to find in North America, so lard is often the best choice. Traditionally, they are made with currents and should be rolled in sugar when just off the pan, not after cooling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Photo by CatherineLilian
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
instead of lard, i used butter.. besides that, these were pretty good. my welsh approved of them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatherineLilian

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
my recipe uses all butter, no lard and a couple tablespoons of nutmeg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Very good. Welsh cakes tend to get stale quickly, so they are best eaten fresh the same day, preferably warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliette, London, UK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juliette, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Delicious, just like our church makes. Definatley add a touch of nutmeg, it makes a big difference in taste. This was my first attempt at making these cookies and i have to say it was very easy. I wanted to dust mine with sugar but forgot, oh well they are still very good. Will dust with sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
just a Sugestion From A welshman:Why not use desicated coconut in the mix ,Strawberry Jam (US Jelly)sandwiched.Also A teaspoon of Nutmeg also can be used
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve Evans

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I am a fan of the welsh cakes -- Liked the ball/pat method rather than the rolling/cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I've had welsh cakes in Wales also. This is a very good basic recipe using american measurements. I also used all butter and added a bit of nutmeg. And a light sugar dusting when they come out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
great recipe! my raisin loving family enjoyed them. I also used all butter instead of lard and it turned out just fine. I hate rolling and cutting dough, so I just rolled little balls and flattened with well-floured hands before placing on the griddle. I also completely dusted the cookie with powdered sugar which gave it a "snowball" look. Looks great on holiday cookie trays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This recipe is similar to one my Dutch gramma has made before. I use all butter instead of the lard. I've also added a tsp. of nutmeg and added white chocolate chips and craisins, and served them at a Christmas brunch. Everybody loved them! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Funnel Cakes IV

See how to make the ultimate fair food at home!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States