Welsh Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
My grandma's recipe (which I prefer) uses only butter and adds mace, cinnamon and a little mixed peel. I would leave out the lard, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Keusen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I am Welsh and grew up in the Welsh Valleys where my "nana" [grandmother] made bakestones,, or Welshcakes. We called them bakestones as they were made on a cast iron baking stone. Most families had slight variation on this recipe where half lard and half butter were used. The lard helps with texture,, all butter could be used by may create a heavier result. We always used currents- not raisins,,along with a healthy dose of sweet mixed spice. My nan also used to make a coconut batch,, later on she branched out to apricot and pecan. We never dusted with sugar, but did slaver on butter when and if they had been hanging around for a day or so!! They also freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Garry Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nawazn
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Great recipe! Very easy to make and tasted just like the ones I had in Cardiff. They burn quite easily, so make sure you cook them on a low-medium heat. And sprinkling with sugar at the end makes all the difference in presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I can't say enough good things about these! They're perfect. We sprinkled them with baker's sugar and cinnamon while they were hot. Had them for breakfast with butter and jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I tried this recipe. It is pretty good. I am Welsh and would use currants rather than raisins, if they are available. Also, ground nutmeg is a must! I would add a scant tsp, but a little less would be okay. It makes a BIG difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
We love the Welsh cakes they serve and sell at our local Highland games, and I've been wanting to try them at home for some time. I finally broke down and gave this a go. They are very close to those. I do prefer the currants when I can find them, and I added a generous dose of nutmeg and a splash of vanilla. I also used a combination of butter and organic shortening. I'm pretty happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SeaTea
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I adjusted the recipe to 18 servings which made 24 cakes. Next time, I would reduce the sugar slightly, and I didn't sprinke with sugar after cooking as they were already quite sweet. Other recipes suggest the addition of nutmeg, which I forgot. You can also use currents and/ or dried cranberries instead of raisins. I used shortening instead of lard. I patted out the dough instead of rolling - it is quite soft - and I cooked them on an oiled cast iron skillet on low heat for 3 or 4 min per side, or until they were "set" and golden. They are quite high calorie, so freeze some to enjoy later :-) . They have a taste somewhere between a pancake and a tea biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
We tried this recipe a few months ago with raisins and most of the family really enjoyed it, but my daughter and I don't like raisins. We tried it this time with chocolate chips instead and loved it! It's somewhere between a pancake and a cookie! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Nice standard Welsh cakes recipe. The recipe doesn't clearly state this, but when baked on a griddle, these scones have to be flipped so as to end up with two bottoms. Another reader suggested adding Nutmeg. In the suggested quantity I think that is overpowering. Traditionally, the spice used was Mace, which is a related milder spice, but it's more expensive than nutmeg. It will give the pastry a golden color and that mysterious "what's that spice?" quality. For this recipe use about 2 tsp of Mace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Excellent recipe for Welsh cakes for those who have never heard of them. This one works well because several on this site do not. Enjoy, especially hot with lots of butter and preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Funnel Cakes IV

See how to make the ultimate fair food at home!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States