Weeknight Wonton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I am pleased to be the first review of this tasty, satisfying Asian soup. I made my own chicken stock, using a leftover grilled chicken thigh and Better Than Boullion base, lending a slight smokey flavor to the soup broth. I also added one grated carrot for added flavor and color, along with the frozen wontons. Trader Joe's frozen wontons are our favorite and cooked two minutes is perfect. I upped the Chinese five-spice to 1 tsp and 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper, personal preference only. Thank you, DeviousMuse, for a winning recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This was so good but because I'm not a fan of the Chinese Five Spice Powder I left that out. Instead of salt I sprinkled in some lite soy sauce. Delish and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This soup has great flavor! I loved it. I followed the recipe plus I added a couple of chicken breasts diced & browned. My whole family really liked this, we especially liked the crunch of the water chestnuts. I will be making this regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Easy and pretty tasty. I used frozen pot stickers because that's what my grocery store had. I had to cook it longer because they're bigger than wontons. Everything else I kept the same. Next time I'll add some ginger or garlic because I though it needed more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
The entire family loves this soup. I inadvertantly used a bag of frozen pot stickers and I added the sauce into the broth and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli McGourty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Very good! I added a little Hosin sauce, chili paste and ground ginger....used with package of Trader Joes chicken cilantro wontons... So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcombs
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Very good. Threw in some garlic, ginger and lemon grass to the broth. And a single person udon soup mix/noodles I had in the closet. Everyone loved it and it took just a few minutes to whip up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SisterSarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I rarely write reviews for recipes but this soup is just too good! I added some bits of chicken and had to leave out the spinach as I didn't have any, but the soup was still good without it. This soup really cleared out my sinuses too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Beltsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I had to customize this recipe a lot due to lack of ingredients. I used vegetable broth, green onions, 1 clove of garlic, spinach, and 1/4 of a table spoon of mushroom soy sauce and a ton of cayenne papper. (I love spice!) The wontons I used are from the Chinese grocery store and there isn't much English on it. It was a chicken/shrimp wonton so it really added a lot of favour to the soup. Loveddd it. Warmed my belly and was light. Great as a late night treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This recipe was great, even with some of the modifications I had to make b/c of lack of ingredients. I only had chicken broth so I used 4 cups chicken broth and 1 cup water. I didn't have water chestnuts or spinach, so I added 1 grated carrot and added about a cup of thawed frozen peas into the pot at the same time as the frozen wontons. I also like my food spicy so I made my own spice combo instead of using five-spice powder: 1 1/2 tsp ground black pepper, 1 tsp cayenne pepper, 1/2 tsp soy sauce (instead of salt). Quick, easy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States