Weeknight Wonton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I rarely write reviews for recipes but this soup is just too good! I added some bits of chicken and had to leave out the spinach as I didn't have any, but the soup was still good without it. This soup really cleared out my sinuses too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Beltsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I had to customize this recipe a lot due to lack of ingredients. I used vegetable broth, green onions, 1 clove of garlic, spinach, and 1/4 of a table spoon of mushroom soy sauce and a ton of cayenne papper. (I love spice!) The wontons I used are from the Chinese grocery store and there isn't much English on it. It was a chicken/shrimp wonton so it really added a lot of favour to the soup. Loveddd it. Warmed my belly and was light. Great as a late night treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Very good! I added a little Hosin sauce, chili paste and ground ginger....used with package of Trader Joes chicken cilantro wontons... So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcombs
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Thank you for the tip to add the tops of the green onions as well. I never know if I'm supposed to or not for any given recipe that calls for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dewey, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Very good. Threw in some garlic, ginger and lemon grass to the broth. And a single person udon soup mix/noodles I had in the closet. Everyone loved it and it took just a few minutes to whip up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SisterSarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Easy and pretty tasty. I used frozen pot stickers because that's what my grocery store had. I had to cook it longer because they're bigger than wontons. Everything else I kept the same. Next time I'll add some ginger or garlic because I though it needed more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This recipe was great, even with some of the modifications I had to make b/c of lack of ingredients. I only had chicken broth so I used 4 cups chicken broth and 1 cup water. I didn't have water chestnuts or spinach, so I added 1 grated carrot and added about a cup of thawed frozen peas into the pot at the same time as the frozen wontons. I also like my food spicy so I made my own spice combo instead of using five-spice powder: 1 1/2 tsp ground black pepper, 1 tsp cayenne pepper, 1/2 tsp soy sauce (instead of salt). Quick, easy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
The entire family loves this soup. I inadvertantly used a bag of frozen pot stickers and I added the sauce into the broth and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This was so good but because I'm not a fan of the Chinese Five Spice Powder I left that out. Instead of salt I sprinkled in some lite soy sauce. Delish and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
My kids didn't like the spinach in the spoup. I think had I chopped it and maybe only put in half it wouldn't have been such a big deal. :( I will try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motherofthree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States