Weekend Brunch Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I like this a lot! It's really simple and tastes great. My b/f and I are always in a rush in the morning to get to work so we don't have time for the classic breakfast. I make this casserole every Sunday afternoon that way we have a quick "out-the-door" breakfast to enjoy throughout the week. I started experimenting and last Sunday replaced the Sausage with BEEF CHORIZO. Mmmm, it was a spicy change. Chorizo is a portugese sausage, really red, little spicy, but good. If you use Chorizo, be careful because it is really greasy! You need to drain it pretty well if you're worried about the fat. Chorizo also tends to be pretty "mushy" it won't turn out like chunky sausage, it appears as more of a thick meaty sauce. So to add more of a texture, I added small bits of diced ham. I cooked the ham and chorizo together in the frying pan so the ham can soak in some of the chorizo juices. It came out really well and my b/f asked me to use chorizo again for next weekend. ^^ thanks for the recipe, we love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina-Bo-Bina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This recipe needed some adjusting to be even greater. Instead of crescent rolls, I used flaky pastry, or flaky biscuits in the roll. They were great and lighter. Also I partially scrambled the eggs in order to layer the ingredients and have a more textured caserole, this made the taste even better. The cheese blends were wonderful, and I served it along with syrup, jams, or preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QutyQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I tried this recipe last weekend and it was delicious. My husband & I both enjoyed it. I took some of the leftovers to my daughter & son-in-law and they liked it also. I followed other reviewers suggestions and baked the crescent rolls for 5 minutes while I was cooking the sausage. I also used half mozzarella and half cheddar cheese. I will definitely make this again, probably for Christmas morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I had to add a couple of extra eggs to this, the 4 that the recipe calls for isn't enough. I added 1 potato that I fried up in 2 tblsps of olive oil. All in all the recipe was good. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eliray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Nice recipe. I added bell pepper, green onion, and browned meat with chopped yellow onions. Just like others have noted, I had to bake it 10-15 min longer. Next time, however, I will modify a little more… I would dry the sausage with paper towels before baking. Also, I would lower the temperature a little and cook casserole longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Excellent, fast, and easy! My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This was a hit at our house for Thanksgiving morning breakfast. I doubled the recipe for 12 people. I did make quite a few modifications though.....I used 7 eggs for 1 cup of milk, added seasoning salt to the egg mix, used 2lbs of sausage and browned it with 1/2 an onion, and used 3 different kinds of cheese (asiago, cheddar and mozz) I also cooked the rolls at the bottom of the pan for 5-6 minutes and the crust turned out perfectly even though I had to bake the casserole for a longer duration since it was doubled. The only problem with doubling the recipe is that it it took so long the top layer of eggs obtained a film like texture on it, almost rubbery. The inside of the casserole was delicious but the top was not. I would suggest if you double this recipe, you use two seperate pans and cook everything separately. It just takes too long with a doubled recipe, and the eggs get rubbery. Awesome breakfast dish - will make it again for sure, but wont be doubling in the same pan. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OLYBROWNS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This egg dish is very easy to make. I did not brown sausage the night before as some reviewers suggested... my dish came out of the oven perfectly done. I will be making this frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I added onions and green peppers. I used pepper jack instead of mozzerela. We thought it still needed some seasoning. Will try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I guess this was just ok. I was expecting something fantastic from the reviews but what we got was just ok. It got ate but it just seemed to be lacking something. Needed more flavor or more kick or something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States