Weekday Pot Roast and Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
My hubby made it step by step and it comes so good !! My picky eater daughter loves it too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I made this exactly as the recipe stated and it was fantastic. The gravy thins out while being cooked, so no need to add more liquids like many of the reviews state. Lastly, I made mine in an 8qt slow cooker, and that was fine too. I did immerse the meat in the gravy once it thinned out a bit. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Dorothy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This came out really good, which surprised me since after 6 hours it had really not come together yet. After 10 it was perfect. Not a big gravy fan and from the beginning it seemed like way too much gravy for me but it cooked down some in the end. I used root vegetables, parsnips and rutabaga and they came out perfect. I would use a little more salt next time. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I used 2 cans beef and 1 can mushroom gravy (we like gravy) and also sauteed the onions prior to adding. Great meal! My cooking time for a 4 lb chuck roast was only 5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This was pretty good. I did add more water to make sure that the meat didn't dry out. Next time I will cut the roast into smaller peices before I start cooking to make sure it isn't too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carlenemarie1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I agree that the time is way too long. I made a 2-pound roast and it was well-done in 5 hours on low. I doubled the veggies. I didn't bother with the gravy; just added some chicken broth before cooking and made my own. The 4-star rating is because I agree with a couple other reviewers that it could use a little more seasoning. I'll probably search around at other recipes for ideas of what else to put in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This was super easy and the vegetables turned out delicious! The meat was tender, but I thought it lacked something. Maybe more seasoning or garlic salt instead of powder? Idk, but I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This is a very good and easy dish to fix. With the left overs I make soup which my family like just as well. I cube up the veggies in to smaller pieces and shredded the meat. In a 3 quart sauce pan I put a can of diced tomatoes and 1 bag of frozen mixed vegetables 2 cup water. Warm this up the add left over in to it. Let it simmer for about 15 minutes to blend flavors. My family ate both meal like there was no tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlt11_NMC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
pretty good and fairly easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This is a very good, basic pot roast. I like using round as stated in this recipe instead of chuck as chuck is super fatty. Great but greasy. Plus, round is $13/4# at Costco. Cheap! *****I would like to add that if you change the recipe - by NOT browning the meat (critical!) or adding other mixes like soup or broth - do NOT rate the recipe poorly. YOU HAVE WRITTEN A NEW RECIPE. You made something you didn't like - don't blame the original poster! I can't tell you how many times there will be a recipe with a bunch of 5 stars and then one with 2. Almost always, they will sub chicken for pork, garlic for basil, potatoes for onions and cook it in a crock pot the wonder why they didn't like it. This might be someone's family recipe and is glorious. It doesn't deserve a poor review because you cooked something else. Whew. End of rant. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States