Weekday Pot Roast and Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I had a couple of cans of Campbells gravy to use up so I decided to give this a try. Super easy & turned out pretty good. My crock pot roasts are always done in less time than this recipe specified so check often and use a meat thermometer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
After 40+ years of cooking this is my first slow cooker meal. First I am not a roast fan, steaks are what I crave. I must say though this is a very good meal. I seasoned a little more and my gravy was a little thin for me but all in all I enjoyed this alright. I will tweak it a little next time but not much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Let me tell you, this was excellent !, the beef was 'melt in your mouth' great and I also added 2 stalks of celery cut small and a small squash.....highly recommended ! P.S. cook on high for 7 hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BubbleaPot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Very good; added more seasonings and made my own gravy from the pan drippings when I browned the roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Good comfort food. I used a 2 lb roast and there's no way it could reasonably have fed 8 people. Also, I think this recipe is for one of the newer crockpots. I have the traditional 3.5 qt size and not everything fit in. The meat was very tender. I think 10 hours might be a bit too long for a 2 lb roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I think 10 hours is too long. I made a 2.5 lb roast and it was well done in 8 hours. I suggest checking on the roast after 5 hours. After this recipe I will probably stick with onion soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Not bad. I didn't have the beef gravy so I ended up using a can of cream of mushroom soup, a cup of water and beef bouillon. Not sure if that was the cause of the more blandness of the meat or not. It wasn't bad though and VERY eatable! I didn't have time to put it in the crock pot so I cooked it in a pan like the recipe calls for and then baked it with the gravy and veggies in the oven at 350 degrees for about 2 hours and by that time the veggies were done. The meat was tender enough, although did not fall apart. It was, over-all a good, hearty meal. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I make this as stated but with the addition of a cup of red wine and a dash of worcestershire sauce. I then thicken the gravy at the end with some cornstarch. My kids'll eat anything, but they proclaim this one 'awesome'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corpman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Like other reviewers, I didn't brown the roast and used Heinz beef gravy. Didn't peel the potatoes. The pot roast didn't look particularly appealing -- but the meat was tender and the taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
The best pot roast recipe I've made. It is the only one I make now. My cook time is usually 6 hours on high for a 2 lb. roast. I adjust the amount of vegetables to what we need. Usually more potatoes and less carrots. I add celery if I have it on hand. I also use 2 Tablespoons of basil instead of 2 teaspoons. It was on accident that I first did that and my family liked it better that way. This recipe is super easy and it always comes out tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States