Wedge Salad with Elegant Blue Cheese Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I love this dressing. But like the other reviewer, that is alot of blue cheese. I just added about 1/4 cup(eyeballed it), put it all in a blender for a few pulses, and I have to say, it is the best I've tasted. Even my kids love it, and ask for it all the time. Now I keep blue cheese in stock. It is just ever so slightly sweet when you first taste it, then you get the nice tang following that, with the nice strong flavor of the cheese. I have never cared for bottled dressing of any kind, I have always liked making my own because I like to be able to control the salt and sugar and it just is always nice and fresh. I wonder if the recipe might have been a typo or something. Maybe it meant to be a half a cup instead. This is the only reason as to why I had to give it a 4 star. I also like adding to it chopped candied walnuts, chopped bacon, and chopped granny smith apples. It just doesn't get any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan C. Wheeler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Fabulous dressing! I cut the amount of blue cheese in half. I love the tang from the red wine vinegar coupled with the sweetness from the sugar. Definitely give it time for the flavors to come together (I did make it the night before). I did add some crumbled bacon and chilled the salad plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This is a great salad! In a hurry and don't have time to make dressing? Simply docter up bottled blue cheese dressing. I add just a bit of red wine vinegar, milk, sugar and black pepper and it tastes pretty much the same as starting from scratch. Also,as others suggested, real bacon bits really add to it. My kids love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This was VERY good...they serve this at one of my favorite restaraunts and I was so glad to find the recipe...only thing I did different was to also add some crumbled bacon on top of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoppingbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
My husband loved this and asked me to save the recipe. I served grape tomatoes and omited the onion. Next time I will add the onion and some applewood bacon crumbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This dressing was wonderful with half of the blue cheese--both in the dressing and on top of the salads (I think it would have been way too over-powering with all of the cheese in and on top of the salad!). I substituted whole milk b/c I didn't have any buttermilk and the dressing was definitely elegant and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Excellent! I made this as a surprise for my husband for his birthday with dinner, and he loved it. The dressing was amazing! We will no longer use store bought blue cheese! Thanks for the great recipe! UPDATE.....I made this again and it is just wonderful. I wish more people knew about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Love this - I eat it every week for lunch sometimes for dinner too! I use the blue cheese gorgonzola dressing - yum! But I add a little water to the dressing to try to save some calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lisle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
The dressing was wonderful--except for my very spicy garlic (but that was my fault). I added glazed walnuts and that mixed well with the blue cheese. Will do again but will probably half the recipe (makes a little too much for my family to use up).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Years ago I made a similar salad. I placed a wedge on each of 2 plates and they looked great. I was so proud of my efforts. My husband began to eat and very soon found an angleworm lodged between the leaves. My suggestion is that the lettuce head should be soaked in salt water for some time in order to remove unwanted seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Absolutely the BEST Blue Cheese Dressing Ever!

See how to make creamy, chunky-style blue cheese salad dressing from scratch.

Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make an unbelievably rich and creamy blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States