Wedge Salad with Elegant Blue Cheese Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This is the best blue cheese dressing I have ever tasted. It is not the thick out of the bottle store dressing. It is more the consistency of a ranch dressing. This is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Years ago I made a similar salad. I placed a wedge on each of 2 plates and they looked great. I was so proud of my efforts. My husband began to eat and very soon found an angleworm lodged between the leaves. My suggestion is that the lettuce head should be soaked in salt water for some time in order to remove unwanted seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This is the best tasting dressing even with the substitutions I had to make. Can't imagine how good it would be as written. Didn't have buttermilk so used regular - substituted feta for blue cheese - substituted apple cider vinegar for red wine vinegar. Really good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I also add crumbled cooked bacon on top. Cut the blue cheese as well to just under half the recipe amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Delicious. Pretty sure the dressing recipe means 1/2 a cup of blue cheese though instead of 1/2 a pound. I used 1/4 cup and it was great. The recipe made about two cups of dressing too, so those cooking for a smaller group may want to cut it in half. Applewood smoked bacon is a must on top of this salad though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna Culp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This was so delicious that I ate it again for breakfast the next morning! I only used 1/2 lb of blue cheese and I also added crumbled cooked bacon. This is the best way to eat iceberg lettuce. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah King Kornbrek
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This was very good. I was trying to copy a wedge salad I ate a nice restaurant on a trip to Tennessee. I thought this pretty much tasted like it. I made 1/2 recipe, used all low-fat dairy, and cut the amount of blue cheese in half. Blue cheese is not only a little bit expensive, but the amount seemed excessive. I made a mock buttermilk and for the vinegar I did 1/2 red and 1/2 white wine vinegar. I was worried the dressing would turn pink. For the onions, I just chopped them, and added a sprinkle to taste. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah King Kornbrek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Well, I wasn't a fan of iceberg lettuce until now. I only looked this recipe up to make it for my boyfriend. After tasting the dressing the night that I made it, I thought to myself that I should give iceberg another try. Since we had a half of head of lettuce left I made a salad for myself on night two. DELICIOUS! I only used an 8oz container of bleu cheese and it was great! Thanks for sharing! We will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bec1nky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I will definitely make this again, but I will cut back on the vinegar and the sugar, both were a bit much making the dressing very sweet & vinegary. As other reviewers, I only used 1/4 pound of blue cheese and it was plenty. The one thing that I did add was seasoning salt, otherwise this would have just been thrown out. I don't know exactly how much I added because I did the sprinkle, stir and taste bit. Overall a good start to a good salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Dressing is awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Absolutely the BEST Blue Cheese Dressing Ever!

See how to make creamy, chunky-style blue cheese salad dressing from scratch.

Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make an unbelievably rich and creamy blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States