Wedge Salad with Elegant Blue Cheese Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Love the dressing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
With all the rave reviews I was expecting to love this recipe but mine was dissapointing. The only thing I changed was to use less vinegar but this was still too tangy for my taste. I will keep looking for one I will like or maybe play with this recipe a bit more to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Really good blue cheese dressing. I omitted the garlic because I really don't think garlic and blue cheese go together. I did change the method of mixing a little. Instead of putting in the whole 1/2 pound of blue cheese before mixing, I pulled out a small bowl of the largest chunks and blended the rest with the other ingredients, then I folded the large chunks into the dressing. I omitted the blue cheese crumbles from the wedges. This way you only need 1/2 pound of cheese, not a whole pound. But overall, really tasty dressing and far superior to bottled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This one is a winner. The volume of dressing is fairly small. Our family of three used almost all of the dressing on our salads. If you like to have enough to to use the dressing again, double the dressing ingredients. Like others, I sprinkled half of the blue cheese on our salads. Do note that this will make the dressing itself a little less thick. That was fine with us. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Since I absolutely love wedge salads, I was really looking forward to this one. The salad ingredients are fine (I, too, like many, lowered the amount of blue cheese), but I was so disappointed in the dressing. As others have mentioned, the vinegar is overpowering. I made the recipe as written so as to fairly evaluate it, but if I make it again, I will certainly reduce the vinegar. Probably easier to find a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This is the best blue cheese dressing I have ever tasted. It is not the thick out of the bottle store dressing. It is more the consistency of a ranch dressing. This is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Years ago I made a similar salad. I placed a wedge on each of 2 plates and they looked great. I was so proud of my efforts. My husband began to eat and very soon found an angleworm lodged between the leaves. My suggestion is that the lettuce head should be soaked in salt water for some time in order to remove unwanted seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This is the best tasting dressing even with the substitutions I had to make. Can't imagine how good it would be as written. Didn't have buttermilk so used regular - substituted feta for blue cheese - substituted apple cider vinegar for red wine vinegar. Really good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I also add crumbled cooked bacon on top. Cut the blue cheese as well to just under half the recipe amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Delicious. Pretty sure the dressing recipe means 1/2 a cup of blue cheese though instead of 1/2 a pound. I used 1/4 cup and it was great. The recipe made about two cups of dressing too, so those cooking for a smaller group may want to cut it in half. Applewood smoked bacon is a must on top of this salad though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna Culp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Absolutely the BEST Blue Cheese Dressing Ever!

See how to make creamy, chunky-style blue cheese salad dressing from scratch.

Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make an unbelievably rich and creamy blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States