Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Labor intensive. Ok flavor, but more effort than I want to expend. Didn't realize prior to starting that it's for 24 servings! That was funny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Really good soup! Will make again, without the meatballs, to make it lighter. We did not serve over pasta, but just ate the soup with some fresh bread. One thing I did discover: boiling chicken pieces, bone in or boneless, in chicken stock, is a great and fast way to make juicy chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I enjoyed this very much. Like many, I did make changes to it. But my version 2.0 will have many more changes. I loved DENISELAIRD's recommendations, and I will take some of those in to account. The pasta with this makes it yummy. I personally also made myself some Egg whites and added it to some spoonfuls of the soup. It was GREAT! and it it pretty nutritious for us bodybuilders :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DeniseKokkinopoulos
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
OK..I changed alot of things after reading the reviews and suggestions. This is what I did. I used boneless chicken breasts only (about 3 pounds) and 2 pounds of ground sirloin. I omitted the celery because we aren't a huge fan of cooked celery. I used 2 Russett Potatoes UNPEELED instead of sweet Potatoes and I did cube them (not too small). I didn't use any cabbage, I instead used baby spinach coarsely chopped (NOT a whole bag..about half a bag), I also added alot more chicken broth when everything was in the pot to start cooking together. I added water also and ONE cube of chicken bouillon. I just eyed how much water and broth I needed to make a soup. I used about 2.5 tablespoons of basil, oregano, and garlic tomato paste. When I made the meatballs. I seasoned the meat also with alot of Slap Ya Mama cajun seasoning, garlic powder. I also used Italian bread crumbs, NOT plain. The soup as a whole was seasoned with fresh cracked pepper, SYM, and garlic powder..LOTS of it for flavor..also a pinch of Red pepper flakes. I added the spinach towards the end too. when the chicken was cooking with the onion..I seasoned that also. I used aged Parmesan and aged Romana. THIS soup was VERY Good. it made ALOT and i served it with cheese rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseKokkinopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galliano, Louisiana, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
Overall, we liked this recipe. The flavors were very good, but next time I will leave out the tomato paste. We think it will be more appealing with a golden broth color instead of the red of a vegetable soup. Also, I substituted spinach for the cabbage because all wedding soups I have had previously used spinach. Very good basic recipe, easy to tweak. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
Okay. Wasn't impressed with this soup. I guess I was looking for the normal wedding soup recipe. I should have known by the ingredients that it was a clear broth. It wasn't a terrible soup just not what my family's taste buds were in the mood for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
This soup is great!!! I've made it twice now and my family just loves it. Thanks for the recipe, I'll be doing this one a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
Sooooo delicious! I add spinach and regular potatoes. Use chicken cutlets and dice them, boil them with the onion and garlic in buillion base water. Then add more water and buillion and all other ingredients. Roll the meatballs real small. Instaed of tamato paste, you can just cut up one tomato. It is sooooo delicious! Between me and my fiancee, we gobble it up in a couple of days. Great for cold weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States